How many Himalayas are there in India?

The Indian Himalayan Region – IHR physiographically, starting from the foothills in the south (Siwaliks), extends up to the Tibetan plateau in the north (Trans-Himalaya). 

Three major geographical entities, the Himadri (Greater Himalaya), Himachal (Lesser Himalaya), and the Siwaliks (Outer Himalaya), extending almost uninterrupted throughout its length, are separated by major geological fault lines.

The Himalayan states include 10 hill states- Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, and two partial hill states, namely Assam and West Bengal.

Further Readings-

  1. Highest Peaks in States of India
  2. Top 50 Highest Mountains In The World
  3. Important Mountain Passes in India

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *