How many times the national emergency has been declared?

The National Emergency has been declared 3 times in India.

  • 1962 to 1968: During the India-China war, when “the security of India” was declared as being “threatened by external aggression”.
  • 1971: During the Indo-Pakistan war. V.V.Giri was the president at that time.
  • 1975 to 1977: Under controversial circumstances of political instability. The emergency was declared on the basis of “internal disturbance”. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed was the president during the third emergency.

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *