What are the Eastern Ghats?

  • The Eastern Ghats stretch from the Mahanadi Valley to the Nilgiris in the south. The Eastern Ghats run from northern Odisha through Andhra Pradesh to Tamil Nadu in the south passing some parts of Karnataka. 
  • They are eroded and cut through by the four major rivers of peninsular India, known as the Godavari, Mahanadi, Krishna, and Kaveri.
  • The Deccan Plateau lies to the west of the range, between the Eastern Ghats and the Western Ghats. The coastal plains, including the Coromandel Coast region, lie between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal.
  • The Eastern Ghats are the source points for many small and medium rivers along the eastern coastal plains of South India.
  • Mahendragiri (1,501 metres) is the highest peak in the Eastern Ghats. Shevroy Hills and the Javadi Hills are located to the southeast of the Eastern Ghats.

Further Reading:

Related Links

Which is the deepest river in India?

Which rivers flow through the Eastern Ghats?

Geography Questions in UPSC Prelims

IAS Officer


Take IAS Mock Tests

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *