What are the sects of Jainism?

The sects of Jainism are:

  • The Digambara (Sky clad)  
  • The Svetambara (White clad) 

The Digambara sect believes in absolute renunciation of worldly possessions including clothes. Only by renouncing all worldly possessions, as they believe, will a soul achieve liberation. They are mainly present in South India Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh.

The Svetambara do not believe in complete renunciation of worldly possessions as their practitioners wear clothes and have certain possessions such as books and begging bowls.

For further reading check the following articles:


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *