Gautam Buddha - Life & Teachings [NCERT Ancient Indian History Notes For UPSC]

Gautam Buddha’s teachings revolve around the middle path of the living, the eight-fold path to enlightenment, and four noble truths. This article will provide you with relevant NCERT notes on Buddha, Buddha’s philosophy and teachings of Gautam Buddha, for the IAS Exam.

NCERT notes on important topics for the UPSC Civil Services Exam. These notes will also be useful for other competitive exams like banking PO, SSC, state civil services exams, and so on.

To complement your preparation for civil services examination, check the following links:

Gautam Buddha & His Teachings Notes:- Download PDF Here

Gautam Buddha – Facts for UPSC

  • Buddhism was founded by Gautama Buddha.
  • Buddha was born as Prince Siddhartha at Lumbini near Kapilavastu (in present Nepal) in 566 BC.
  • He was the son of Suddhodhana and Mahamaya. Suddhodhana was the chief of the Sakya clan. Due to this, Buddha was also known as ‘Sakyamuni’.
  • His mother died either giving birth to him or after seven days. Siddhartha was brought up by his maternal aunt, Prajapati Gautami. This gave him the name ‘Gautama’.
  • He was married to Yashodhara and had a son, Rahula.
  • He left his home at the age of 29 to become an ascetic. This event is called Mahabhishkramana.
  • The idea of renunciation occurred to the Buddha after he saw four different states of man – sick man, old man, corpse and ascetic.
  • Buddha wandered for seven years and at the age of 35 attained enlightenment at Uruvela while meditating under a Peepal tree (Fig Tree/ Ficus Religiosa) on the banks of the river Niranjana. This tree came to be known as ‘Bodhi tree’ and the place became Bodh Gaya (in Bihar).
  • He gave his first sermon at Sarnath near Varanasi. This event is called Dharmachakra Pravartana/ Dhammachakkappavattana.
  • He died in 483 BC under a Sal tree in Kushinagar (in UP). This event is called the Mahaparinirvana.
  • The term ‘Buddha’ means ‘enlightened one’.
  • Important contemporaries of Buddha were Mahavira Jaina, Kings Prasenjit, Bimbisara and Ajatasatru.

Buddhist Philosophy/Teachings of the Buddha

The teaching are mentioned below:

  • It teaches the Middle Path renouncing extreme steps like indulgence and strict abstinence.
  • The four noble truths (Arya Satya) in Buddhism are:
Four Noble Truths – Buddhism Facts for UPSC
1. The world is full of sorrow
2. Desire is the root cause of all sorrow
3. Sorrow can be conquered by conquering desire
4. Desire can be conquered by following the eight-fold paths (Ashtangirka Marga)
  • The eight-fold path in Buddhism is:
Eightfold Path in Buddhism
Right understanding
Right resolve
Right speech
Right action
Right living
Right efforts
Right thought
Right self-concentration.
  • The Tri Ratnas of Buddhism are: Buddha, Dhamma and Sangha. Details are mentioned below:
Triratnas of Buddhism Meaning of Triratnas
Buddha: the highest spiritual potential in everyone.
Dhamma the teachings of Buddha (Pali for Sanskrit Dharma or righteousness)
Sangha order of monks who follow Buddhism.
  • Buddha did not believe in God or the soul.
  • Stressed on karma and ahimsa.
  • He was against the varna system. Buddha taught in Pali.
  • Buddhism spread to several countries outside India. China adopted Buddhism in the 1st century AD. [/su_box]

Gautam Buddha & His Teachings Notes:- Download PDF Here

The table below lists a few important articles in continuation with the topic above as part of our series on NCERT Ancient Indian History Notes for UPSC 2023.

NCERT Notes: Buddhist Councils & Buddhist Texts
NCERT Notes: Jainism
NCERT Notes: Ashoka’s Edicts

UPSC Preparation:

IAS Toppers UPSC Syllabus
UPSC Exam Pattern UPSC Calendar 2023
UPSC Books Daily News Analysis
UPSC Prelims Daily Video Analysis: The Hindu


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.