What is the rank of the prime minister in India?

The rank of the prime minister in India is recorded in a protocol list of functionaries and authorities called the order of Precedence. The order is established by the President of India and is maintained by the Ministry of Home Affairs. According to the list, the prime minister ranks 3rd in India. The ranks of 1st ten functionaries and authorities are given below.

  1. President
  2. Vice-President.
  3. Prime Minister.
  4. Governors of States within their respective States. 
  5. Former Presidents. 5A. Deputy Prime Minister 
  6. Chief Justice of India. Speaker of the Lok Sabha
  7. Cabinet Ministers of the Union. Chief Ministers of States within their respective States. Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission. Former Prime Ministers. Leaders of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha and the Lok Sabha. 7A- *Holders of the Bharat Ratna decoration. 
  8. Ambassadors Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary and High Commissioners of Commonwealth countries accredited to India, Chief Ministers of States outside their respective States. Governors of States outside their respective States
  9. Judges of the Supreme Court, 9A, “Chief Election Commissioner. 9A. *Chief Election Commissioner. *Comptroller & Auditor-General of India.
  10. Deputy Chairman, Rajya Sabha. Deputy Chief Ministers of States. 

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *