What kind of citizenship India has?

Though the Indian Constitution is federal and envisages a dual polity (Centre and States), it provides for only single citizenship, that is, Indian citizenship. The citizens of India owe allegiance only to the Union. There is no separate state citizenship. The system of single citizenship is introduced to provide uniform rights for all citizens of India and to promote the feeling of fraternity and unity among them and build an integrated Indian nation.

The other federal states like the USA and Switzerland, on the other hand, adopted the system of double citizenship. 

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *