Who has the power to dissolve Lok Sabha?

The President of India has the power to dissolve Lok Sabha. According to Article 83(2) of the Constitution, the completion of five years from the first day of its meeting amounts to the dissolution of the Lower House. In this case, an election is held to elect the new Members of Parliament. The Lower House can also be dissolved earlier by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. It can also be dissolved if the President feels that no viable government can be formed after the resignation or fall of a regime.

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *