Who was the first president of the Constituent Assembly of India?

Dr Sachidanand was the first president of the Constituent Assembly of India. Later Dr Rajendra Prasad was elected the President of the Constituent Assembly. 

The members of the Constituent Assembly were indirectly elected by the members of the then existing Provincial Assemblies. In addition, members were also nominated by the princely states. For elected members, seats were reserved on a communal basis. 

The Constituent Assembly was to have 389 members. But, at the time of independence the Muslim League boycotted the Assembly. As a result, members representing the areas included in Pakistan ceased to be members of India’s Constituent Assembly. Hence, out of 296 elected members, only 229 remained as of 31st December 1947. The Constituent Assembly was dominated by members belonging to Congress. Within the Congress, mostly all the leaders of the freedom movement were members of the Assembly. Out of the 229 members of the Constituent Assembly 192 belonged to Congress, 29 to Muslim League, 1 Akali and 7 were independent members.

Further Reading:

Related Links

Who can declare a national emergency?

What is Swaran Singh committee?


Veto Power of President of India

UPSC Preparation Links

GS 2 Structure, Strategy and Syllabus

Topic-Wise GS 2 Questions for UPSC Mains

IAS Toppers



List Of IAS Preparation Articles

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *