Why is the IUCN Red List important?

The IUCN Red List is important as it acts as a critical indicator of the health of the world’s biodiversity. It is a powerful tool to inform and catalyse action for biodiversity conservation and policy change, critical to protecting the natural resources we need to survive. 

This list indicates which species are in danger of extinction or are already extinct. It is used by the government, wildlife and other agencies to accordingly plan conservation measures. The list classifies species into seven categories:

  1. Extinct
  2. Extinct in the Wild
  3. Critically Endangered
  4. Endangered
  5. Vulnerable
  6. Near Threatened
  7. Least Concerned

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *