Lipoproteins are complex lipids consisting of cholesteryl ester and triacylglycerol and are encompassed by a single surface layer of amphipathic phospholipid and cholesterol molecule.

These biomolecules comprise proteins and lipids molecules, which function by permitting the movement of fats through the water molecules, both inside and outside the cells.

Also Read: Lipids

Types of Lipoproteins

There are five main types of lipoproteins and are mainly based on their density and the ratio of proteins and lipids molecules. The different types of lipids are:

  1. LDL – The low-density lipoproteins. It is also called bad cholesterol. The optimal level of LDL cholesterol for most people is 100 mg/dL or lower. Raise in the level of LDL results in the formation of plaque in the blood vessels, related to other cardiac issues.

Also Read: Facts about Cholesterol

  1. HDL – The high-density lipoprotein, it is also called good cholesterol and the density is due to high lipid and the protein ratio. It functions by preventing the cholesterol from building up in the arteries. The optimal level of HDL cholesterol is 60 mg/dL and higher.
  2. VLDL- Very low-density lipoproteins. These lipoproteins are derived from the liver for the export of triacylglycerols.
  3. IDL- The Intermediate-density lipoproteins. These lipoproteins are derived from the catabolism of VLDL- very-low-density lipoproteins.

Also Refer: Difference Between Fat And Cholesterol

This article concludes an introduction to lipoproteins, their types and structure. To know more about lipoproteins, other related topics and important questions, keep visiting our website at BYJU’S Biology.

Quiz Activity Of The Day!

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class