Important Committees And Commissions In India UPSC 2018

Important Committees for UPSC 2018

For the UPSC Prelims exam, it is very important for candidates to be aware of the various committees and commissions that were formed in the country over the course of a year. This is especially important for current affairs, polity and the GS papers. In this article, you will read about the various important committees and commissions in India for UPSC. It is presented in a tabular format to aid your learning process.

Committee/commission Chairman Issue
Umesh Sinha Committee Umesh Sinha To look into changes in the RPI Act’s Section 126 w.r.t social media expansion
Empowered Expert Committee N Gopalaswami To shortlist the top 20 educational institutions of eminence
Y H Malegam Committee Y H Malegam To monitor bad loans and increasing cases of frauds
15th Finance Commission N K Singh Read more about FCs
Amitabh Kant Committee Amitabh Kant To address the issue of NPAs (non-performing assets) in the power sector
Empowered Steering Committee Abhinav Bindra To guide India’s preparation for multi-disciplinary events including the Tokyo Olympics 2020
Rajiv Kumar Committee Rajiv Kumar Water resources management in the north-eastern region (NER)
Economic Advisory Council Bibek Debroy To analyse and advice the PM on any issue especially those pertaining to the economy
National Commission for Minorities Syed Ghayorul Hasan Rizvi Minority issues
Committee to curb custodial deaths Sudhir Shrivastava To curb custodial deaths
Taskforce for public credit registry (PCR) for India Avinash K Srivatsava To suggest a plan for the development of a comprehensive PCR for India
Task Force on Artificial Intelligence (AI) Dr. V. Kamakoti AI for economic transformation
N Chandrasekaran Taskforce N Chandrasekaran To study the use and application of artificial intelligence (AI) in military
Injeti Srinivas Committee Injeti Srinivas To frame a comprehensive National Sports Development Code across sports disciplines
BCCI Administrative Committee Vinod Rai To run the BCCI
Timothy Gonsalves Committee Timothy Gonsalves To find ways to rectify the gender gap in the IITs
Kang Committee  N S Kang For proper implementation of the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act
Committee on cybersecurity Meena Hemchandra Interventions to strengthen cybersecurity and resilience
D B Shekatkar committee Lt Gen D B Shekatkar To enhance the combat potential of the armed forces
Chitale Committee Madhav Chitale For recommendations for the de-siltation of River Ganga
Girdhar Malviya Committee Justice Girdhar Malviya To prepare the draft Ganga Act
Kewal Kumar Sharma Committee Kewal Kumar Sharma To review the 7th Pay Commission recommendations of the UGC
Virtual Currency Committee Dinesh Sharma For proposing new regulations regarding digital currencies
Panel on National Education Policy (NEP) K Kasturirangan To draft the NEP
Agricultural Produce Market Committee Ashok Dalwai To form a regulated wholesale agricultural market at a distance of every 80 km
Kotak Committee Uday Kotak On corporate governance
Srikrishna Committee B N Srikrishna On data protection
2nd National Judicial Pay Commission P V Reddi To prepare revised salary structures for the judges of lower courts
Mineral Policy Committee K Rajeswara Rao To review the 2008 mineral policy and frame a new one
Afzal Amanullah Committee Afzal Amanullah For a new Haj policy
TK Viswanathan Committee TK Viswanathan To deal with cyber crimes especially online hate speech
Madhukar Gupta Committee Madhukar Gupta Border protection
RBI Overseeing Committee Pradeep Kumar To look into the stressed assets of the banking sector
Partha Mukhopadhyay Committee Partha Mukhopadhyay Working Group on Migration
Standing Committee of Inter-State Council Narendra Modi Disputes between states
Amitabh Chaudhry Committee Amitabh Chaudhry To review the existing framework of IRDAI-linked and non-linked insurance product regulations
RBC Committee Dilip C Chakraborty For a new risk-based capital regime


Also Read:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *