List of Prime Ministers of India (1947-2023)

Prime Minister of India is the head of the government. He is appointed by the Indian President after the political party wins a general election and nominates a candidate for the post. The leader of that political party is thereafter appointed as the Prime Minister of India.

India’s first Prime Minister was appointed in 1947. In 2023, the Indian prime minister is Narendra Modi.

This article will give you the list of Prime Ministers of India and its PDF.

The List of Prime Ministers of India is one of the most important topics with respect to the general awareness section in UPSC and other government exams.

The next general elections for the appointment of a new Prime Minister are scheduled to be conducted in 2024. Candidates shall find the information related to the Prime Ministers of India in this country.

To prepare current affairs for the upcoming government exams, candidates can visit the linked article.

Daily News

Prime Ministers of India List

In 72 years of independence, India has got its 19 Prime Ministers. The list of Prime Ministers of India along with the period they served in the office, is given in the table below:

S.No Prime Minister Period
1 Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru 15th Aug 1947- 27th May 1964
2 Gulzarilal Nanda (interim) 27th May 1964- 9th Jun 1964
3 Lal Bahadur Shastri 9th June 1964 -11th January 1966
4 Gulzarilal Nanda 11th January 1966- 24th January 1966
5 Indira Gandhi 24th January 1966- 24th March 1977
6 Morarji Desai 24th March 1977- 28th July 1979
7 Charan Singh 28th July 1979- 14th January 1980
8 Indira Gandhi 14th January 1980- 31st October 1984
9 Rajiv Gandhi 31st October 1984- 2nd December 1989
10 Vishwa Pratap Singh 2nd December 1989- 10th November 1990
11 Chandra Shekhar 10th November 1990-21st June 1991
12 P. V Narasimha Rao 21st June 1991- 16th May 1996
13 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 16th May 1996-1st June 1996
14 H. D Deve Gowda 1st June 1996- 21st April 1997
15 Inder Kumar Gujral 21st April 1997- 18th March 1998
16 Atal Bihari Vajpayee 18th March 1998- 22nd May 2004
17 Dr Manmohan Singh 22nd May 2004 -17th May 2014
18 Narendra Modi 26th May 2014 -23rd May 2019
19 Narendra Modi 30th May 2019 -Incumbent

Narendra Modi is the 15th Prime Minister of India (excluding the re-elected PMs). He is the 4th Prime Minister of India who would serve two consecutive terms as the Indian Prime Minister and the first Non-Congress Party Prime Minister who would complete two consecutive terms.

List of Indian Prime Ministers:- Download PDF Here

Aspirants of Bank exams, UPSC exams, Government exams or any other competitive exams must know the list of Indian Prime Ministers and the time duration they have served in the office.

The Prime Minister of India list holds relevance for the general awareness section of all types of competitive exams and for the Polity section in the UPSC exams.

In terms of UPSC syllabus, list of Prime Ministers of India is a static GK topic. Candidates are advised to check more Static GK on the linked page.

Other important links:

Government Exams Bank exams Insurance exams
SSC Exams Government exams After 12th Government Schemes

Candidates preparing for any of the above-mentioned exams are advised to take Online quizzes to boost their preparation.

For more such articles, keep checking BYJU’s page.

Frequently Asked Question – Prime Minister of India List


Q.1. Who was the first Prime Minister of India?

Ans. Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru served as the First Prime Minister of India. His tenure of office as Prime Minister was from 15th August 1947 to 27th May 1964.

Q.2. Who is the first female Prime Minister of India?

Ans. Indira Gandhi was the first and the only female Prime Minister of India till date.

Q.3. Who is the longest-serving prime minister of India?

Ans. Jawaharlal Nehru remains India’s longest-serving prime minister. He served as the Indian Prime Minister until his death in May 1964.

Q.4. Which Article deals with the Appointment of the Prime Minister?

Ans. Article 75 of the Indian constitution deals with the appointment of Prime Ministers and other ministers of India.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.