List Of Railway Ministers Of India From 1945 To 2023

This article will upkeep you with various Railway Ministers of India who served the Ministry of Railways from the year 1945 to 2021. The list of Railway Ministers of India is an important topic for competitive exams. 

The list of Railway Ministers of India is a Static GK topic that holds relevance in the UPSC exam. For more such static GK articles, kindly check the linked page.

The general awareness is an extremely vast topic to study. Candidates must pay special attention to this section as it is one of the most scoring sections in various competitive or government exams.

Questions on Railway Ministers of India are asked in exams like Bank, RRB, SSC, Insurance and other Government exams.

The list of Railway Ministers of India is an important topic for general awareness. Candidates must know the names and the duration for which each minister served at the post. Knowing about the head of the Ministry of Railways, their tenure of office and the political parties they pertained to is essential to ace the general awareness section of various competitive exams.

List of Railway Ministers of India – Download PDF Here

Railway Ministers of India 

The Railway Minister is the head of the Ministry of Railways, Government of India i.e. all the responsibility and charge of the Indian rail transport is looked out by the Minister of Railways.

The ministry takes care of the state-owned Indian Railways headed by the Chairman of the Railway Board. The railway minister is usually awarded a cabinet rank and is responsible for the functioning of the complete Indian Railways, the largest employer in the world.

The most imperative responsibility of the Railway Minister of India is to prepare and present the railway budget every year in the parliament. Railway budget is the Annual Financial Statement of Indian Railways.

After the cabinet reshuffling, Piyush Goyal of the Bharatiya Janata Party became the successor of Suresh Prabhu the former Railway Minister and held the charge of the office of Railway Minister of India from September 3, 2017. Piyush Goyal is currently serving as the Union Railway Minister of the country. 

After every election, a new set of Ministers are appointed at different positions. The aspirants must have complete knowledge of the names and posts of these Ministers as it will help them flourish in the banking general awareness section.

Check the List of Cabinet Ministers of India along with their portfolios on the linked page. 

Daily News

List of Railway Ministers of India

Some ministers who have held the position of Railway Minister of India include Jagjivan Ram, S.K. Patil, Lal Bahadur Shastri, Gulzarilal Nanda, Bansi Lal. The detailed list of Railway Ministers of India is given below along with their political parties and the office tenure. 


Railway Ministers Of India (1945-2020)
Name Political Party Tenure of Office
Asaf Ali Indian National Congress 2nd September 1946 – 14th August 1947
John Mathai Indian National Congress 15th August 1947 – 22nd September 1948
N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar Indian National Congress 22nd September 1948 – 13th May 1952
Lal Bahadur Shastri Indian National Congress 13th May 1952 – 7th December 1956
Jagjivan Ram Indian National Congress 7th December 1956 – 10th April 1962
Swaran Singh Indian National Congress 10th April 1962 – 21st September 1963
H. C. Dasappa Indian National Congress 21st September 1963 – 8th June 1964
S. K. Patil Indian National Congress 9th June 1964 – 12th March 1967
C. M. Poonacha Indian National Congress 13th March 1967 – 14th February 1969
Ram Subhag Singh Indian National Congress 14th February 1969 – 4th November 1969
Panampilli Govinda Menon Indian National Congress 4th November 1969 – 18th February 1970
Gulzarilal Nanda Indian National Congress 18th February 1970 – 17th March 1971
K. Hanumanthaiya Indian National Congress 18th March 1971 – 22nd July 1972
T. A. Pai Indian National Congress 23rd July 19724th February 1973
Lalit Narayan Mishra Indian National Congress 5th February 1973 – 2nd January 1975
Kamalapati Tripathi Indian National Congress 11th February 1975 – 23rd March 1977
Madhu Dandavate Janata Party 26th March 1977 – 28th July 1979
T. A. Pai Janata Party (Secular) 30th July 1979 – 13th January 1980
Kamalapati Tripathi Indian National Congress 14th January 1980 – 12th November 1980
Kedar Pandey Indian National Congress 12th November 1980 – 14th January 1982
Prakash Chandra Sethi Indian National Congress 15th January 1982 – 2nd September 1982
A. B. A. Ghani Khan Choudhury Indian National Congress 2nd September 1982 – 31st December 1984
Bansi Lal Indian National Congress 31st December 19844th June 1986
Mohsina Kidwai Indian National Congress 24th June 1986 – 21st October 1986
Madhavrao Scindia Indian National Congress 22nd October 1986 – 1st December 1989
George Fernandes Janata Dal 5th December 1989 – 10th November 1990
Janeshwar Mishra Samajwadi Janata Party 21st November 1990 – 21st June 1991
Jaffer Sharief Indian National Congress 21st June 1991 – 16th October 1995
Ram Vilas Paswan Janata Dal 1st June 1996 – 19th March 1998
Nitish Kumar Samata Party 19th March 1998 – 5th August 1999
Ram Naik Bharatiya Janata Party 6th August 1999 – 12th October 1999
Mamata Banerjee Trinamool Congress 13th October 1999 – 15th March 2001
Nitish Kumar Janata Dal (United) 20th March 2001 – 22nd May 2004
Lalu Prasad Yadav Rashtriya Janata Dal 23rd May 2004 – 25th May 2009
Mamata Banerjee Trinamool Congress 26th May 2009 – 19th May 2011
Dinesh Trivedi Trinamool Congress 12th July 2011 – 14th March 2012
Mukul Roy Trinamool Congress 20th March 2012 – 21st September 2012
C. P. Joshi Indian National Congress 22 nd September 201228th October 2012
Pawan Kumar Bansal Indian National Congress 28th October 2012 – 10th May 2013
C. P. Joshi Indian National Congress 11th May 2013 – 16th June 2013
Mallikarjun Kharge Indian National Congress 17th June 2013 – 25th May 2014
D. V. Sadananda Gowda Bharatiya Janata Party 27th May 2014 – 10th November 2014
Suresh Prabhu Bharatiya Janata Party 10th November 20143rd September 2017
Piyush Goyal Bharatiya Janata Party 3rd September 20177 July 2021
Ashwini Vaishnaw Bharatiya Janata Party 7 July 2021Incumbent

List of Railway Ministers of India – Download PDF Here

It is important for aspirants to be well versed with the list of Railway Ministers of India and other such topics to ace the general awareness section of any exam as the questions asked are factual and direct. Also, it will help you sail smoothly in the interview rounds. 

To prepare the general awareness, the candidate must not just be aware of the static general awareness but also of the current events of the country and the world.

Other related links:

UPSC 2022 UPSC Syllabus NCERT Notes
Current Affairs Government exams After 12th Government Schemes

Candidates preparing for any of the competitive exams are advised to take Online quizzes to boost their preparation. 

Prepare for other government exams and banking general awareness by checking the BYJU’S page for more GK topics.