Latest and Updated List of Cabinet Ministers of India

The preparation for any competitive exam, be it UPSC IAS exam, CDS (I) & (II), NDA, SSC CGL, IBPS, LIC AAO, Bank PO, Railways exam, etc., is incomplete without having a decent awareness of General Knowledge (GK) and Current affairs. Minimum of 1-2 questions will be asking from Cabinet Ministers of India in most of the competitive examination. If studied in a right mode, aspirants can crack the competitive exam easily.

The Council of Ministers exercises executive authority in the India. It comprises of senior ministers, entitled as Cabinet Ministers, and junior ministers, so-called Ministers of State.

Try our Weekly quiz and check your General Knowledge (GK) here

Shri Narendra Modi took oath as the 15th Prime Minister of India, along with 44 Council of Ministers. There was a reorganization in his cabinet on 5th July 2016. Here we are giving the Latest and List of Cabinet Ministers of India updated as on 22nd December 2016.

List of Cabinet Ministers of India



Shri Narendra Modi

(Honourable Prime minister)

Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances, and Pensions

Department of Atomic Energy

Department of Space

All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister

Shri Raj Nath Singh

Ministry of Home Affairs

Smt. Sushma Swaraj

Ministry of External Affairs

Shri Suresh Prabhu

Ministry of Railways

Shri Arun Jaitley

Ministry of Corporate Affairs

Ministry of Defence

Ministry of Finance

Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu

Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting

Ministry of Urban Development

Shri Nitin Jairam Gadkari

Ministry of Road Transport and Highways

Ministry of Shipping

Shri D.V. Sadananda Gowda

Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation

Sushri Uma Bharati

Ministry of Water Resources, River Development, and Ganga Rejuvenation

Dr. Harsh Vardhan

Ministry of Earth Sciences

Ministry of Science and Technology

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan

Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food, and Public Distribution

Shri Kalraj Mishra

Ministry of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises

Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi

Ministry of Women and Child Development

Shri Ananthkumar

Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers

Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs

Shri Ravi Shankar Prasad

Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology

Ministry of Law and Justice

Shri Jagat Prakash Nadda

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

Shri Chaudhary Birender Singh

Ministry of Steel

Shri Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pusapati

Ministry of Civil Aviation

Shri Anant Geete

Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises

Smt. Harsimrat Kaur Badal

Ministry of Food Processing Industries

Shri Narendra Singh Tomar

Ministry of Drinking Water & Sanitation

Ministry of Panchayati Raj

Ministry of Rural Development

Shri Jual Oram

Ministry of Tribal Affairs

Shri. Radha Mohan Singh

Ministry of Agriculture & Farmers Welfare

Smt. Smriti Zubin Irani

Ministry of Textiles

Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot

Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment

Shri Prakash Javadekar

Ministry of Human Resource Development

Tune into for more strategy articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam