Chief Ministers In India - Updated List 2019 - 2020

This article will give you the list of Chief Minister of Indian states for the year 2019. The list of Chief Ministers of India will give you the names of the personalities serving as the Chief Ministers of Indian states, their term of office and the related political parties.

Knowing about the CM of India is important to ace the general awareness section of competitive exams. Direct and factual questions about Chief Ministers of Indian states, their office tenure and the political party they belong to are asked in general awareness sections of most of the competitive exams like UPSC, Bank, RRB, SSC, Insurance and other Government exams.

The CM of India list is an important Static GK topic asked in various competitive exams. Aspirants can check the linked page for more such Static GK articles.

Candidates preparing for any competitive exam are advised to take Online quizzes to boost their preparation and can refer to the related links given below:

Chief Ministers of India (State-Wise)

The Chief Ministers shall be appointed by the Governor says Article 164 of the Indian constitution. However, in no way the Governor is free to appoint any person as the CM of India for a particular state.

As per the Constitution, the Governor at the state level is the de jure head i.e. the legal head but the Chief Minister of Indian states is the (de facto executive) the real executive i.e. all the authority in that particular state rests with him.

After the elections to the state legislative assembly, the party with the majority of seats are invited by the Governor to form the Government. He appoints the CM of India for different states, whose council of ministers as a whole are responsible for the assembly.

List of Chief Ministers in India – Download PDF Here

Who is the Chief Minister in India?

A Chief Minister is the elected head of the council of ministers in a state. He rules and regulates the functions of a particular state. The candidate who gets elected as the Chief Minister of a particular state oversees the everyday functioning of the state government. 

CM of India is responsible for conveying all policies and decisions of the state to the people.

For detailed knowledge about the role, power and functions of the Chief Ministers and Council Of Ministers in India, check the linked page.  

Comprehensive News Analysis

List of Chief Ministers of India 2019 

Usually, the term of office for Chief Ministers of India is for a maximum of five years but there is no limit to the number of terms a person can serve as CM of India.

As per the Gazette of India 2019 implemented from October 31, 2019, India has 28 States and 9 Union Territories with 31 Chief Ministers in India, 3 from the Union territories Jammu & Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry and 28 from States. 

The List of Chief Ministers in India for the year 2019 is as mentioned below:

List of Chief Ministers of India 2019 [State-Wise]
Chief Minister in India State Political Parties
Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy Andhra Pradesh YSR Congress Party
Shri Pema Khandu Arunachal Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Sarbananda Sonowal Assam Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Nitish Kumar Bihar Janata Dal (United)+BJP
Shri Bhupesh Baghel Chhattisgarh Indian National Congress
Shri Arvind Kejriwal Delhi (NCT) Aam Aadmi Party
Shri Pramod Sawant Goa Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Vijaybhai R. Rupani Gujarat Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Manohar Lal Haryana Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Jairam Thakur Himachal Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Hemant Soren Jharkhand Jharkhand Mukti Morcha + Indian National Congress
Vacant Since June 20, 2018 Jammu & Kashmir Under President’s rule
Sri B. S. Yediyurappa Karnataka Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Pinarayi Vijayan Kerala Communist Party of India (Marxist)
Shri Kamal Nath Madhya Pradesh Indian National Congress
Shri N. Biren Singh Manipur Bharatiya Janata Party
Uddhav Thackeray Maharashtra  Shiv Sena + National Congress Party + INC
Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma Meghalaya National People’s Party
Shri Pu Zoramthanga Mizoram Mizo National Front
Shri Neiphiu Rio Nagaland Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party
Shri Naveen Patnaik Odisha Biju Janata Dal
Shri. V. Narayanasamy Puducherry (UT) Indian National Congress
Shri Capt. Amarinder Singh Punjab Indian National Congress
Shri Ashok Gehlot Rajasthan Indian National Congress
Shri Prem Singh Tamang Sikkim Sikkim Krantikari Morcha
Thiru Edappadi K. Palaniswami Tamil Nadu All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Shri K Chandrasekhar Rao Telangana Telangana Rashtra Samithi
Shri Biplab Kumar Deb Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Yogi Aditya Nath Uttar Pradesh Bharatiya Janata Party
Shri Trivendra Singh Rawat Uttarakhand Bharatiya Janata Party
Km. Mamata Banerjee West Bengal All India Trinamool Congress

List of Chief Ministers in India – Download PDF Here

Also, check the List of Cabinet Ministers of India along with their portfolios in the linked page.

CM Of India – Important Facts

  1. Virbhadra Singh of Himachal Pradesh is the oldest Chief Minister in India
  2. Sikkim’s Pawan Kumar Chamling held office in December 1994 and has the longest tenure as the. He served for 22 years as the CM of Indian State.
  3. Pema Khandu Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh is the youngest state Chief Minister of India.

The list of Chief Ministers of the Indian State is imperative for all competitive exams. Aspirants of Bank exams, UPSC exams, Government exams or any other exams must be well aware of this list. 

Other Related Articles:

Keep checking BYJU’s page for more such articles.

Bank Exams 2020

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *