Presidents of India - List of Indian Presidents

President of India is referred to as the first citizen of India. The president of India is elected by an Electoral College composed of the elected members of the parliament, Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and Vidhan Sabha.

There have been 14 personalities who served as Indian Presidents since the adoption of the Indian Constitution in 1950.

President is elected by the process of Proportional representation with means of a single transferable vote. President can be removed by the process of impeachment.

The qualification for the post of the president of India is given below:

  1. He should be an Indian Citizen
  2. His age should be a minimum of 35 years
  3. He should qualify the conditions to be elected as a member of the Lok Sabha
  4. He should not hold any office of profit under the central government, state government, or any public authority.

Related Links:

This article provides a list of Indian Presidents since 1950. This is an important topic for UPSC, Bank and other Government exams.

Bank Exams 2020

List of Indian Presidents (1950-2019)

Name Tenure Description
Rajendra Prasad 13 May 1952 – 13 May 1957

13 May 1957 – 13 May 1962

  • He was elected twice as the president
  • He was also the president of the constituent assembly before being elected for this post.
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 – 13 May 1967
  • Radhakrishnan was a prominent philosopher and writer.
  • He also held the position of vice-chancellor of the Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University.
Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
  • He was the recipient of padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna.
  • He was the shortest serving president and passed away in office.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 3 May 1969 – 20 July 1969

24 August 1969 – 24 August 1974

  • He was elected Vice President of India in 1967.
  • He served as the president for a short term due to the sudden death of Zakir Hussain in office.
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 – 11 February 1977
  • He was the president during Emergency.
  • He was the second president who died in officer.
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 – 25 July 1982
  • He was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.
  • He became the youngest President who occupied Rashtrapati Bhavan and contested twice for the post of president.
Zail Singh 25 July 1982 – 25 July 1987
  • He was the Chief Minister of Punjab and the Union Home Minister
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992
  • He is a receiver of “Tamra Patra” for his contributions to India’s freedom struggle.
Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 – 25 July 1997
  • He was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications.
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25 July 1997 – 25 July 2002
  • He served as India’s ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and the United States of America.
Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 – 25 July 2007
  • He played a leading role in the development of India’s ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs.
  • He was also a Bharat Ratna recipient.
Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 – 25 July 2012
  • She was the first woman president of India.
Pranab Mukherjee 25 July – 25 July 2017
  • He was awarded the best Parliamentary Award in 1997.
  • He also received Padma Vibhushan in 2008
Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 – Incumbent
  • He served as the Governor of Bihar.

Aspirants of UPSC Exam, Bank exam, SSC exam or other prominent competitive exam are advised to stay abreast with Current Affair and GK topics as approximately 20% of questions are based on general awareness in any exam.

List of Indian Presidents is an important static GK topic. For more Static GK  topics, check the article linked here.

Aspirants of various competitive exams can test their learning of Presidents of India pre and post-independence by giving free Online Quizzes.

For the latest information on UPSC 2020 exam, kindly visit the page linked here.

We will be sharing more such topic-wise GK articles so, keep checking the page regularly to stay up-to-date and ace the general awareness section of any exam.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *