IBPS Clerk Exam 2019

The Institute for Banking Personnel Selection conducts the IBPS Clerk exam every year. The 2019 exam, also known as Common Written Examination(CWE) Clerk 2019 has been renamed as the Common Recruitment Process(CRP) 2019. In this article, we provide the IBPS clerk exam date, eligibility criteria, syllabus and the notification for this exam.

IBPS Clerk Eligibility

The following are the main eligibility criteria for the IBPS Clerk exam:

Citizenship: The candidates applying for the exam should fulfil the following criteria:

  • Citizenship of India
  • Subjects of Nepal or Bhutan
  • Tibetan Refugee who arrived prior to 1 January 1962
  • A person of Indian origin migrated from Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Burma(Myanmar), Vietnam or East African countries of the United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya, Malawi, Zambia, Zaire or Ethiopia to permanently settle in India

All candidates who are not Indian citizens have to produce a certificate of eligibility from the Government of India before their appointment.

Age Limits: Between 20 years to 28 years for unreserved categories. Upper age limits are relaxed according to the following table:

Age Limit Relaxation for IBPS Clerk CRP

Educational Qualification: Candidates must have at least an undergraduate degree in any discipline from a recognised university.

IBPS Clerk Exam Date

The tentative dates of the CRP Clerk IX 2019 are in December 2019 and January 2020. The IBPS clerk exam dates are given in the following table:


Exam Date

CWE Clerk 2019 Prelims

07 Dec 2019

08 Dec 2019

14 Dec 2019

15 Dec 2019

CWE Clerk 2019 Mains

19 Jan 2020

IBPS Clerk Notification

The IBPS clerk exam notification is usually released between July and September every year on the official website of the institute. The notification for CWE clerk IX 2019 will be published shortly.

IBPS Clerk Exam Pattern

The IBPS clerk exam consists of two stages, the Preliminary and Main examination. The plan of examination is as follows:

IBPS Clerk Prelims: The paper consists of 100 objective type questions which have to be completed within an hour. The paper is divided into three sections:


Number of Questions

Maximum Marks

Time Allotted




20 min

Numerical Ability



20 min

Reasoning Ability



20 min

Candidates have to secure sectional cut off marks as well as an overall IBPS clerk cut off to be able to move to the next stage.

IBPS Clerk Mains: The Main exam also consists of objective type questions, though the number of question is 200. These have to be completed in 2 hours 40 minutes. The paper is divided into four sections as follows:


Number of Questions

Maximum Marks

Time Allotted

General/Financial Awareness



35 min

General English



35 min

Reasoning Ability and Computer Aptitude



45 min

Quantitative Aptitude



45 min

Both the exams are conducted in English and Hindi except for the parts which test the English language ability of the candidate. There is negative marking for incorrect answers. Each wrong answer attracts a penalty of ¼ of the marks allotted to that question.

IBPS Clerk Mock Test

The institute makes the IBPS Clerk mock test available on its website for candidates to familiarise themselves with the exam. It also conducts pre-exam training for candidates from weaker sections of society and ex-servicemen to enable them to compete effectively.

IBPS Clerk Apply Online

The application process for IBPS clerk exam is completely online. Candidates can register for the exam from the official website. The following fees have to be paid by the aspirants for completing their IBPS clerk online application:




Rs. 600


Rs. 100

The IBPS Clerk admit card is issued to candidates who fulfil all the eligibility criteria and have paid the fees online.

IBPS Clerk Syllabus

The IBPS Clerk syllabus can be divided into Prelims and Mains. The following is the breakup of the syllabus for each stage:

IBPS Clerk Prelims Syllabus: The Prelims syllabus is relatively small, consisting of English, Numerical and Reasoning Ability. The following table gives the topics covered in the exam:

Reasoning Ability

Quantitative Aptitude

English Language

Logical Reasoning


Reading Comprehension

Alphanumeric Series

Profit & Loss

Cloze Test

Ranking/Direction/Alphabet Test

Mixtures &Alligations

Para jumbles

Data Sufficiency

Simple Interest & Compound Interest & Surds & Indices

Multiple Meaning / Error Spotting

Coded Inequalities

Work & Time

Fill in the blanks

Seating Arrangement

Time & Distance



Mensuration – Cylinder, Cone, Sphere

Paragraph Completion


Data Interpretation


Ratio & Proportion, Percentage

Blood Relations

Number Systems

Input Output

Sequence & Series

Coding Decoding

Permutation, Combination &Probability

IBPS Clerk Mains syllabus: The Mains syllabus includes additional topics including the Prelims syllabus as given below:

English Language


Quantitative Aptitude

General Awareness

Computer Aptitude



Ratio and Proportion

Current Affairs

Basic of Hardware and Software


Statements and Assumption

Time, distance and speed

Indian Financial System

Windows Operating System

Reading Comprehension


Time and work

Indian Banking System

Internet Terms

Coding and Decoding

Mixture and Allegations

Monetary Plans

Microsoft –Office

Blood Relations


Introduction to National Institutions

History of Computers

Direction Sense Test

Stocks and Shares

Banking Terms

Networking and Communication

Series Test

Ratio and Proportion

Database Basics

Miscellaneous Test


Basics of Hacking, Security Tools and Viruses


Volume and Surface Area


Permutation and Combination


Height and Distances


Simple Interest and Compound Interest

Profit and Loss



Data Interpretation

Charts, Bar and Graphs

IBPS Clerk Result

The IBPS Clerk result is declared in the month of January every year. As the clerk exam allots banks based on the State or Union territory for which the candidate has applied, the Provisional Allotment of banks is announced on different dates. Candidates are required to submit documentation to their allotted banks for background verification once the results are declared. Successfully clearing background verification leads to appointment as a clerk in the respective PSB. The results for CRP VIII 2018 have been announced in April 2019.

IBPS Clerk exam is one of the most competitive examinations in India with a very low ratio of applicants clearing the exam. Due to this, the preparation for the exam should be comprehensive. The Institute conducts IBPS Clerk mock tests to enable aspirants to get an idea of the examination. They also conduct limited pre-examination training for candidates from weaker sections of society. However, it is advisable for candidates to prepare using more material than that available on the official website. This would ensure that the chances of success are high and the candidates come out of the exam process as a banker. BYJU’S has developed well-structured study material and courses to enable candidates to prepare for the IBPS PO exam with ease and clear it with flying colours.

To Know more about IBPS exams, read: