What are the 4 types of Coral Reefs?

The four types of Coral Reefs are as follows:

  1. Fringing reefs – These are the most common type of reefs and grow near the coastline around islands and continents
  2. Barrier reefs – These are parallel to the coastline but are separated by deeper, wider lagoons. The Great Barrier Reef in Australia is the largest and most famous barrier reef in the world
  3. Atolls – These are rings of coral that create protected lagoons and are usually located in the middle of the sea
  4. Patch reefs – These are small, isolated reefs and usually occur between fringing reefs and barrier reefs

Read more:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *