What are the 5 major ocean gyres?

Ocean gyres are large systems of circular ocean currents formed by global wind patterns and forces created by Earth’s rotation. The five major circulation patterns formed by the currents on this map are the world’s five major ocean gyres. They are

  • North Atlantic
  • South Atlantic
  • Indian
  • North Pacific
  • South Pacific.

Further Reading:

Related Links

What drives the vertical movement of ocean water?

What are the three types of ocean movements?

Geography Questions in UPSC Prelims

UPSC Mains Answer Writing Practice


Geography Questions and Answers for UPSC

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *