What is triple talaq?

  • Triple Talaq is the process of divorce under Sharia Law (Islamic law) where a husband can divorce his wife by pronouncing ‘Talaq’ three times. This is also called oral talaq.
  • There are three types of divorce under Islamic law, namely, Ahsan, Hasan and Talaq-e-Biddat (triple talaq).
  • While the former two are revocable, the last one is irrevocable. It is mainly prevalent among India’s Muslim communities that follow the Hanafi School of Islamic Law.

Further Reading:

Related Links
Is there a law against disrespecting the flag? How many Colours are there on the Indian flag?
What is the punishment for disrespecting the national flag? Legislations passed in British India


UPSC Preparation Links
Polity Questions in UPSC Prelims IAS Toppers
IAS Exam UPSC 2022
Polity Questions and Answers List Of IAS Preparation Articles

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *