Which states fall in the Ganga basin in India?

Thefollowing states fall in the Ganga basin:

  • Uttarakhand,
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Madhya Pradesh 
  • Rajasthan 
  • Haryana 
  • Himachal Pradesh 
  • Chhattisgarh 
  • Jharkhand 
  • Bihar 
  • West Bengal
  • Delhi

The Ganga Basin is the biggest river basin in the country draining an area of 8,61,452 sq.km. which is slightly more than one fourth (26.3%) of the total geographical area of the country.

For more relevant articles refer to the links given below:

Related Links

What is desertification as per UNCCD?

What are the 7 World Heritage Sites?

List of Environment Conventions & Protocols

UPSC Questions 

Ramsar Convention

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *