Plants And Its Classification

We see a variety of plants around us. Despite the fact, all of them have same parts and functions, they are different. They appear distinctive with different types of leaves, flowers, stem, etc. Hence, classification of plants can be based on many factors. We can classify them based on their height, tenderness of stem and branches based on their life cycle.

Classification of Plants

plants and its classification

If we consider plants based on their height some are too short while some are too tall to climb. Most of the short plants have green colored, thin, weak stems, big and tall plants have thick, strong and woody stems which are hard to break. Thus, based on their growth habits plants are classified into herbs, shrubs, trees, creepers, and climbers. Each type of these has a different life cycle.
Also, refer Plants – Classification Based On Growth Habit

A plant’s life span begins with the seed germination and continues still it bear flower, fruits and eventually dies off. All this happens in a season or two or more.  Hence, based on their life span, plants are classified into three types, namely:

  • Annuals: As its name, Annuals are plants which completes their life cycle within a single season. They germinate, grow, bear fruits and die off in one season. Generally, all herbs and plants belonging to the grass family exhibit this type of life cycle. Mustard, watermelon, corn, lettuce wheat, are a few examples of Annual plants. The lifespan of the rice plant is also for 4 – 8 months
  • Biennials: Biennials are plants which completes their life cycle at the end of the second season. They need a complete two years, as in the first year, they germinate, develop a root system, stem and leaves. Later in their second year, they yield flowers and bear fruit. Some herbs are also classified into biennials, including spinach. Along with spinach and other herbs, biennials also include Carrot, cabbage, petunias radish, onions, etc.
  • Perennials: Perennials are plants which completes their life cycle for more than two seasons. Once they grow, they start to bear flower, produce fruits, seeds and continue this cycle for a long period of time.  They do not die after bearing fruit; they renew their parts, season after season. Along with few shrubs, trees are all classified into Perennials. Example, Tomatoes, Ginger, Banana, Mango, coconut, palm, Banyan, etc.

This was a brief introduction to the classification of plants based on its life sopan. Learn more about plants, its types, examples, its importance and other related topics only @ BYJU’S Biology


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *