CBSE New Exam Pattern for Class 10

The Central Board of Secondary Education conducts the class 10 board exams for all the affiliated schools. Students who have to appear for the upcoming class 10 board exam must be thorough with the exam pattern. CBSE changes the exam pattern as per the latest syllabus and students needs. In 2008, the board has introduced the CCE model of assessment. This CCE pattern continued till 2017 and again in 2018 new exam pattern has been introduced. So, it’s important for the students to stay updated with the latest class 10 exam pattern. Here we have provided the complete details on CBSE Exam Pattern for Class 10 2019.

CBSE New Exam Pattern for Class 10

In the new CBSE paper pattern for class 10 2019, a single annual exam will be conducted. Now, the class 10 board exam will be of 80 marks and the remaining 20 marks will comprise of internal assessments by the respective schools.

CBSE has introduced certain changes in the exam pattern 2019. Here we have listed the changes in CBSE new pattern for class 10:

  1. CBSE has introduced 2 levels of Math exam i.e Mathematics Basic and Mathematics Standard for class 10 students. Students have to choose between these 2 levels of exam. The basic level is for those students who are not keen to pursue Mathematics at higher levels and exam for it will be of easier as compared to the standard level. Whereas the Standard level of exam is for those students who want to opt maths in the Sr. Secondary level.
  2. More number of MCQ questions will be asked in class 10 board exam 2020. The level of these MCQs are expected to be tougher in exam.
  3. CBSE board will provide more internal choices in the question paper.  The internal options in all sections have been increased by 33%.

The CBSE class 10 exam 2020 is to be conducted as per the CBSE syllabus and not NCERT books. So students are advised to prepare for the exam as per the syllabus provided in the CBSE official website.

CBSE Class 10 Board Exam Marking Scheme and Other Details

Generally, the CBSE board exam for class 10 comprises of 5 main subjects which include:

  1. Language 1
  2. Language 2
  3. Mathematics
  4. Science
  5. Social Science

The students interested to learn any foreign languages or any other additional subject can opt for the same as an additional subject.

Passing Percentage for Class 10 board exam

All the board exam papers (including the additional subject) will have a total of 80 marks each and a student has to score at least 33% marks to pass the respective papers.

Exam Details

The question in the paper will be only from CBSE class 10 syllabus and CBSE will provide the marks and grades of the individual subjects in the grade card. The exam will be conducted for 3 hours and the MCQ based questions will also be included. The detailed marking scheme can be checked from the CBSE class 10 marking scheme page.

Marking Details

In MCQ questions, only one correct option will be provided corresponding to a question. It is important to note that the students should present their answers according to the marks. For example, for a 2 marks question, 30 words are ideal whereas, for a 5 marks question, 70 words should be used.

CBSE Class 10 Internal Assessment Details

The internal assessment will comprise of 20 marks. It consists of 3 divisions which include the following points.

1) Periodic Assessment

The periodic assessment is done at regular intervals and it provides feedback of students performance. It helps students to know their strength and weaknesses and thus enable them for better learning. The Periodic Assessment is further divided into:

i) Periodic Test (05 Marks): Total 3 periodic test will be conducted for each subject. Out of which the average of 2 will be taken for final submission. The weightage of this will be 5 marks.

ii) Multiple Assesment (05 Marks): The schools have given the authority to use other modes of assessment depending upon the demand of the subject. This can consist of oral tests, individual or group work, class discussion, field-work, concept maps, graphic organizers, visual representation etc. The weightage of this will be 5 marks.

2) Portfolio

A portfolio represents the student’s work and describes the efforts, progress, growth, achievement in key areas of learning. Some of the elements through which portfolio can be assessed are:

  • Representation of the work: This includes neatness and visual appeal
  • Completion of guided work focused on specific curricular objectives
  • Student’s growth
  • Inclusion of all relevant work (Completeness)

This will consist of a weightage of 5 marks.

3) Subject Enrichment Activities

This comprises of another 5 marks and assesses the practical, project works and language skills of a student. The subject enrichment activity is different for different subjects. For example, for language subject, the listening, speaking skills, vocabulary will be assessed whereas for Maths and Science the practical works will be examined. For a subject like Social Science, some relevant project work will be evaluated.

We hope students must have found this page on “CBSE Exam Pattern for Class 10” useful in exam preparation. Stay tuned for further updates on CBSE pattern. To get interactive Maths and Science videos subscribe to the BYJU’S YouTube channel.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *