What are the types of natural vegetation?

Natural vegetation refers to a plant community, which has grown naturally without human aid and has been left undisturbed by humans for a long time. This is termed as virgin vegetation. Thus, cultivated crops and fruits, orchards form part of vegetation but not natural vegetation. 

Vegetation regions can be divided into five major types:

  • Forest
  • Grassland
  • Tundra
  • Desert
  • Ice sheet. 

The following major types of vegetation may be identified in our country. They are

  • Tropical Evergreen Forests 
  • Tropical Deciduous Forests 
  • Tropical Thorn Forests and Scrubs
  • Montane Forests 
  • Mangrove Forests

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *