What is a concurrent list?

The concept of ‘Concurrent List’ in the Indian Constitution has been borrowed from the Constitution of Australia. It has 52 subjects enumerated under it. It is a list of 47 subjects on which both the Union and State legislatures enjoy jurisdiction. It consists of subjects like criminal law, criminal procedure, preventive detention, forests, protection of wild animals and birds, trade unions, industrial and labour disputes etc. As both Central and State Government can legislate on subjects mentioned under the Concurrent List, however, in case of any conflict, the law made by the Central Government prevails. 

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.