Schedules of Indian Constitution - 12 Schedules of India

There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. One of the first mentions of Schedules was made in the Government of India Act, 1935 where it included 10 Schedules. Later, when the Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it consisted of 8 Schedules. Today, with the amendments in the Indian Constitution, there are a total of 12 Schedules.

This article will provide you with a list of Schedules of Indian Constitution, important for the IAS Exam from the perspective of Indian Polity (Mains GS-II).

List of Schedules of Indian Constitution

The table given below discusses the list of schedules of the Indian Constitution, important from the UPSC exam perspective:

Schedules in Indian Constitution
Schedules Features of Schedules
First Schedule of Indian Constitution It contains the name of States and Union Territories

Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included

Second Schedule of Indian Constitution The provisions in relation to allowances, privileges, emoluments of:

Third Schedule It contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:

Fourth Schedule It contains the provisions in relation to the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha
Fifth Schedule It contains provisions in relation to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes
Sixth Schedule It contains provisions in relation to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram
Seventh Schedule This schedule deals with the three legislative lists:

  • Union
  • State
  • Concurrent
Eighth Schedule It deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Constitution of India:

  • Assamese
  • Bengali
  • Bodo
  • Dogri (Dongri)
  • Gujarati
  • Hindi
  • Kannada
  • Kashmiri
  • Konkani
  • Mathili (Maithili)
  • Malayalam
  • Manipuri
  • Marathi
  • Nepali
  • Oriya
  • Punjabi
  • Sanskrit
  • Santhali
  • Sindhi
  • Tamil
  • Telugu
  • Urdu
Ninth Schedule It deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and

abolition of the zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.


1st Amendment Act 1951 added the Ninth Schedule to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.

However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after

April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review

Tenth Schedule It contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of



This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law

Eleventh Schedule It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats. It has 29 matters.


This schedule was added

by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992

Twelfth Schedule It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.


This schedule was added

by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992

Since Schedules of Indian Constitution makes an important topic of the Indian Polity subject of UPSC syllabus 2022; aspirants can also check the previous years’ questions asked in GS 2 mains paper. Check the subject-wise questions below:

After going through the previous year questions, candidates must start practising UPSC Mains Answer Writing for 2022. The questions are designed keeping in mind the need and trend of GS papers. Visit the link now and submit your answers today!!

Quiz of the Day!

Schedules of Indian Constitution & Articles

Aspirants should know about the Constitutional Articles related to the Schedules of the Indian Constitution. It will give them clarity of concepts and help them understand the chronology of important articles.

Schedules of Indian Constitution Articles of Indian Constitution
First Schedule Article 1 and Article 4
Second Schedule Articles:

  • 59
  • 65
  • 75
  • 97
  • 125
  • 148
  • 158
  • 164
  • 186
  • 221
Third Schedule Articles:

  • 75
  • 84
  • 99
  • 124
  • 146
  • 173
  • 188
  • 219
Fourth Schedule Article 4 and Article 80
Fifth Schedule Article 244
Sixth Schedule Article 244 and Article 275
Seventh Schedule Article 246
Eighth Schedule Article 344 and Article 351
Ninth Schedule Article 31-B
Tenth Schedule Article 102 and Article 191
Eleventh Schedule Article 243-G
Twelfth Schedule Article 243-W

Candidates reading the ‘Schedules of Indian Constitution’ for UPSC 2022 are suggested to also read the articles linked in the table below, important for Indian Polity:

UPSC Preparation Links:

Schedules of Indian Constitution:-Download PDF Here

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *