What is the rock cycle order?

Rock cycle order:

  • Igneous Rocks-when the molten magma cools; it solidifies to become igneous rock.
  • Sedimentary Rocks- igneous rocks are broken down into small particles that are transported and deposited to form sedimentary rocks.
  • Metamorphic Rocks-  igneous and sedimentary rocks are subjected to heat and pressure they change into metamorphic rocks.
  • The metamorphic rocks which are still under great heat and pressure melt down to form molten magma. This molten magma again can cool down and solidify into igneous rocks

Further Reading:

Related Links

How many rock types are there?

What are the main types of sedimentary rocks?

Geography Questions for UPSC Mains

UPSC Syllabus

UPSC Study Material

Geography Questions and Answers for UPSC

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *