NCERT Notes: The Rock Cycle [Geography Notes For UPSC]

NCERT notes on important topics are crucial when it comes to cracking the UPSC civil services exam. These short-format notes, along with being easy to remember at through a quick lance, will also be useful for other competitive exams like banking PO, SSC, state civil services exams and so on. This article talks about the Rock Cycle for IAS Exam Geography syllabus.

The NCERT Notes for UPSC page is an important asset for a robust IAS preparation plan. Visit the page now!!

The following links will be of immense help to the candidates attempting the exam this year:

Rock Cycle (UPSC Notes):- Download PDF Here

Rock Cycle Notes


Rock cycle

  • The rock cycle is a basic concept in geology that defines the laborious transitions through geologic time among the three main rock types:
    • Igneous rocks
    • Sedimentary rocks
    • Metamorphic rocks
  • Rocks do not remain in their original form for a long period as they undergo a transformation.
  • This cycle is an uninterrupted process through which old rocks are converted into new ones.
  • Igneous rocks are primary rocks.
  • These rocks can be changed into metamorphic rocks.
  • Sedimentary and metamorphic rocks form from these primary rocks.
  • The fragments evolved out of metamorphic rocks and igneous again form into sedimentary rocks.
  • Sedimentary rocks themselves can develop into fragments.
  • The crustal rocks -igneous, metamorphic and sedimentary-once formed may be carried down into the interior of the earth through subduction.
  • In this process, parts or entire crustal plates subduct under another plate and the same melt at high temperature in the interior.
  • This results in the formation of molten magma, the unique source for igneous rocks.

The Processes of the Rock Cycle
  • The rock cycle encompasses several processes.
  • The key processes of the rock cycle are:
    • Crystallization
    • Erosion and sedimentation
    • Metamorphism

Forces that drive the rock cycle
  • Plate tectonics
  • Spreading ridges
  • Subduction zones
  • Continental collision
  • Accelerated erosion
  • Water

Rock Cycle (UPSC Notes):- Download PDF Here

Also, see:

Oxygen Cycle

For more UPSC related preparation material, refer to the links given in the table below. You can check the UPSC Syllabus to familiarise yourself with the exam pattern:

Related Links

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *