Who are the members of the Monetary Policy committee?

There are a total of 6 members in the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC). Three of the members of the Monetary Policy Committee are external members, appointed by the Central Government. You can read about the Monetary Policy Committee – Objectives, Structure in the given link.

The other three persons of the Monetary Policy Committee are internal members of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI). One of the internal members will be nominated by the Central Board of the RBI, the other 2 members are Deputy Governor of RBI who is in charge of the Monetary Policy and Governor of RBI who will be the Chairperson of the Monetary Policy Committee.

Further readings:

  1. RBI – Reserve Bank of India [UPSC Indian Economy Notes]
  2. Bad Banks – Idea Proposed by Indian Banking Association (IBA) Due to COVID-19

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *