Who can admit a new State in the Indian Union?

Parliament can admit a new state in the Indian Union. Article 3 of the Indian Constitution states that the Parliament may, by law, form a new state by separation of territory from any State or by uniting two or more States or parts of States or by uniting any territory to a part of any State. Also, the Parliament can – 

  • Increase the area of any State
  • Diminish the area of any State
  • Alter the boundaries of any State
  • Alter the name of any State. 

Further Reading :

To read more about the Functions of the Parliament, check the linked article. 

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *