Checkout NEET 2022 Question Paper Analysis : Checkout NEET 2022 Question Paper Analysis :

NEET Qualification Code

NEET (National Eligibility cum Entrance Test) is conducted annually by the NTA (National Testing Agency). NEET-UG is a pre-medical entrance test for candidates seeking admission to undergraduate medical courses.


NEET is not only taken up by candidates who have been at the 10+2 level, but also by candidates having varying qualifying degrees. While filling out the NEET application form, candidates come across something called NEET qualification codes. Candidates must select a qualifying code present in the NEET eligibility criteria. The code specifies the qualifying examination code for NEET 2022ย for candidates that have either appeared for their exams, dropped a year, are pursuing a degree, awaiting results or are at such levels.

Candidates are advised to carefully consider going through the qualification codes for NEET before filling out the NEET application form. Selecting the codes as per students’ qualifying exams is now easier as we have detailed the seven different codes, i.e., Code 1-7 along with their descriptions.

Qualifying Examination Codes For NEET

Candidates must refer to these qualifying examination codes and their descriptions to check their eligibility for NEET-UG. It is suggested to carefully read and select any one code as per their qualifying examination and enter the same while filling out the NEET application form. This shall be reviewed under various stages right from registration uptil NEET counselling.

Also see: NEET Counselling

Code 01

Candidates appearing in the qualifying examination – Class 12 in the same academic year, who are awaiting results can take up NEET. However, the candidate shall not be eligible to seek admission to undergraduate medical courses if the candidate has not passed the qualifying examination with the specified pass percentage during the counselling session (first round). Such candidates must select code 1.

Those candidates who have appeared or are appearing at the qualifying examination with main subjects being – Physics, Biology, Chemistry and English, expected to pass the exam with a specified percentage under different categories can take up NEET. But, for this, candidates must render documentary evidence of having passed the qualifying examination with aggregate marks as specified for each subject.

Code 2

This code must be selected if the candidate is at this level – Indian School Certificate

Examination or Higher/Senior Secondary Examination equivalent to 10+2 Senior/Higher Secondary Exam after a duration of 12 years of study. In the last two years of such study, candidates must have had subjects – Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology (including practical tests in these subjects) and Mathematics or other elective subjects with English at a level not less than core courses. Subject English as specified by the National Council of Educational Research and Training. This comes after the introduction of the 10+2+3 structure of education suggested by the National Committee on Education.

Candidates who have passed 10+2 from Open Schooling or as a private candidate or students who have opted for Biology/Biotechnology as an additional subject can apply under NEET qualification code 2. Also, droppers from previous years (those who have passed equivalent board exams in the previous years) can go for the same qualifying examination code.

Code 3

Those candidates who have cleared the Pre-degree/Intermediate exam in science from an Indian University or Board or any recognized body with subjects – Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology (inclusive of practical tests in all subjects) with English being the mandatory subject can select this code, code 3.

Code 4

Candidates can choose this code if they are at the level of Pre-professional/Pre-medical examination with subjects – Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English after having passed either the Pre-University or Higher Secondary examination or an equivalent examination. The Pre-medical/Pre Professional exam is inclusive of practical tests in all these subjects with English being a mandatory subject.

Code 5

Candidates who have successfully passed the first year of degree course from a recognized University with subjects being Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology inclusive of practical tests in all these subjects can opt for this code, code 5. Additionally, candidates must have passed the earlier qualifying examination with English, Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology at a level not lesser than the core course level.

Code 6

A candidate can select code 6 if he/she has passed B.Sc exam from an Indian University with not less than two of these subjects Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology. Also, such a candidate must have cleared the earlier qualifying exam with subjects being English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology.

Code 7

This code can be opted by a candidate who has taken up any other examination which is found to be in standard and scope (Last 02 years of 10+2 education with subjects Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology inclusive of practical test in these subjects). This is equal to the intermediate science exam from a recognized Indian Board/University which considers English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology subjects inclusive of practical tests of all these subjects.

NEET Eligibility Criteria – Basic

Candidates, before filling out their NEET Application forms must be well aware of the basic eligibility criteria as specified by the NTA. Take a brief look at the table below for the basic eligibility criteria to take up NEET –

NEET Eligibility Criteria
Age Criteria The minimum age limit is 17 years as of December 31, of the year of admission or students belonging to all the categories.

There is no clause on the upper age limit of candidates willing to appear for NEET.

Aggregate Marks For General Category โ€“ 50% (Physically Handicapped, PH โ€“ 45%) and for OBC/SC/ST – 40%, PWD – 45%
Note: The marks scored for Mathematics would not be taken into consideration in this exam.
Number of Subjects There will be a total of 3 subjects – Physics, Chemistry, Biology.
Number of attempts There is no such attempt limit in NEET 2022.
Year of Passing
  • Candidates who are appearing for their board exams in the year 2022 โ€“ Eligible
  • Candidates who have appeared for Class 12 exam in 2021 and appearing for an improvement exam in 2022 โ€“ Eligible
  • Students who have appeared for the Class 12 exam in 2020 and have taken an improvement exam in 2021, can mention the year of the exam with a better score.

For the latest and other related posts on NEET, visit NEET BYJU’S.

Related links:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.