NEET Reservation

NEET Reservations 2021 – Quota for Medical Courses

Every year lakhs of students aspire to seek admissions into medical courses. The qualifying exams are different. However, from this year onwards, NEET is declared as the qualifying examination for almost all the medical courses in India. NEET (National Entrance cum Eligibility Test) is a single level medical entrance exam conducted by NTA (National Testing Agency) annually.

NEET 2020 saw the registration of nearly 15.97 Lakh students. NEET 2021 Registrations have commenced from 13th July 2021. The conducting body for NEET exams has been transferred to NTA from CBSE. However, students need to note that reservations in NEET remain the same. To provide an upthrust to the educational aspirations of candidates belonging to the reserved category, reservations are undertaken for such candidates at every round of the entrance.

NEET 2021 Reservation

NTA has specified some instructions/criteria in the NEET Application form that are mandatory to be fulfilled to claim back the reservation. Listed below is a detailed description of the same.

85% State Quota for MBBS – NEET Reservation

State Quota seats comprise all the seats except those of All India Quota constituting 85% of the seats. The state authorities of corresponding states reserve the seats for admissions, for which candidates must fulfil the eligibility criteria specified by the states for reserved categories in addition to the required marks in the exams. To seek admissions to private colleges, candidates can do that through the state quota seats as well.

Provision of Certificates For Candidates belonging to Reserved Category

NEET renders reservation facilities to Scheduled castes, scheduled tribes, PwD and other such economically backward candidates. For this purpose, candidates are required to produce their caste certificates. There are specific authorities allotted for each of these categories that would provide them with certificates.

The authorities are as listed below:

Category Corresponding authorities
SC/ST SC Reservation in NEET – Chief Presidency Magistrate/Presidency Magistrate/Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate, Revenue Officer, Sub-divisional officer, Sub-divisional Magistrate/Additional District Magistrate/Extra Assistant Commissioner/ Additional Deputy Commissioner/Taluka Magistrate/1st Class Stipendiary Magistrate/District Magistrate/Executive Magistrate/Collector Deputy Commissioner
OBC/NCL OBC – Reservation in NEET – Presidency Magistrate/Chief Presidency Magistrate/Sub-divisional Officer/Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate/Revenue Officer or Taluka Magistrate/District Magistrate/Additional Deputy Commissioner/1st Class Stipendiary Magistrate/Collector Deputy Commissioner/Extra Assistant Commissioner/Sub divisional magistrate/Executive Magistrate/
PwD-Locomotor Disability Special medical boards have been constituted from selected central government hospitals

Once the exams have concluded, the qualifying candidates for NEET undergo counselling sessions for allotment of seats in different medical institutes. The counselling sessions occur in two different stages- The national level and state level. At each of these levels, the seat reservation differs, being specified under the NEET reservation criteria 2021.

Listed below are the quota reservations statistics of All India and State level for BDS and MBBS.

Also See: MBBS/BDS Seats in India through NEET

Reservation under 15% AIQ seats

NEET Reservation Criteria 2021 specifies that from the 15% All India Quota seats:

  • S.C.- 15%
  • S.T.- 7.5%
  • O.B.C.- (Non-Creamy Layer) as per the Central OBC List- 27%
  • EWS- As per Central Government norms- 10%
  • PwD- 5% Horizontal Reservation as per NMC norms

The certificate for PwD candidates are issued as per the NEET Reservation Criteria 2021 from one of the following:

  • Rehabilitation or Madras Medical College
  • All India Institute of Physical Medicine
  • Vardhman Mahavir Medical College & Safdarjung Hospital
  • Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education and Research

Candidates always stumble upon queries when it comes to reservations. So, here we bring to you the most frequently appearing questions that may clear most of your doubts.

Query – To take part in NEET, is there any upper age limit for reserved and unreserved candidates?

Response – For unreserved candidates, previously the age limit was 25 years while for the reserved candidates, it was 30 years with a relaxation period of 5 years. However, the latest Supreme Court ruling stated that the latest upper limit cap was taken off initially, subsequently, candidates belonging to both reserved and unreserved categories can take part in the exam if their minimum age is 17 years and above.

Query – For an unreserved candidate to take part in NEET, what is the minimum educational requirement?

Response – Such candidates must have cleared class 12 exams, or equivalent exams from a recognized board of education in an open or regular course with majors in Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English with a minimum passing score of 50%

Query – Who can avail the 15% All India Quota seats in NEET?

Response – Candidates who can avail the NEET All India Quota seats are as follows:

  • Indian citizens
  • Persons of Indian origin
  • Overseas citizens of India
  • Non-Resident Indians
  • Foreign nationals

Note: Reservation to OBC candidates in State surrendered seats under the All India Quota from the academic session 2021-22 shall be subject to the outcome of the case pending before the Hon’ble Supreme Court in Writ Petition No. 596 of 2015

Visit BYJU’S to get the latest updates on NEET 2021.

Related Links:

NEET Counselling
NEET Preparation Tips


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *