NSO Class 4 Syllabus

The National Science Olympiad is conducted annually by the Science Olympiad Foundation (SOF). The NSO is a scholarship exam that aims at enriching scientific reasoning and logical ability. The exam is conducted for the students studying from Class 1 to Class 12. The SOF NSO is held at Levels 1 and 2. Level 1 is conducted for all students studying in classes 1 to 12. Level 2 is conducted for those students who qualify level 1 exam from Grade 3 to Grade 12. The student must fit into the eligibility criteria set by the SOF organisation to enter into the level 2 exam.

Outline of the Examination

There is two levels for the examination. The first is level 1 and the student who qualifies in this level will be eligible to write the level 2 examination. The two levels of the NSO olympiad exam start from Grade 3. Students studying in classes 1 and 2 will have only level 1 examination, and ranks are given based on their performance.

  • The exam is an objective-type test consisting of 35 multiple-choice questions for classes 1 to 4 and 50 multiple-choice questions for Classes 5 to 12.
  • The top 5% of students class-wise, who appear for the 1st level exam will qualify for the next level.

The Pattern of Examination

The exam is an objective-type test consisting of 35 multiple choice questions for Class 4. The examination is divided into three sections.

  • Section 1 questions are about Logical reasoning
  • Section 2 questions are about Science
  • Section 3 questions are on HOTS and it is called the Achievers section

The marks distribution for the three sections is shown below

Class / Grade Section Number of questions Marks per question Total marks
Grade 4 Section 1 5 1 5
Section 2 25 1 25
Section 3 5 2 10
Grand Total 35 40

Class 4 Syllabus National Science Olympiad

The syllabus of NSO goes hand in hand with the academic curriculum of CBSE, ICSE and different state boards. Students who study in any of these boards mentioned can attempt the examination. The NSO syllabus is designed on the concepts and theories that the candidate is going to study in the academic year of that particular grade.

The NSO syllabus for Class 4 is tabulated below.

Section of the exam Name of the section Topics included in the section
Section 1 Logical reasoning Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning

  • Patterns
  • Alphabet Test
  • Coding-Decoding
  • Mirror Images
  • Embedded Figures
  • Geometrical Shapes and Solids
  • Ranking Test
  • Direction Sense Test
  • Days and Dates
  • Possible Combinations
  • Analogy and Classification
Section 2 Science Section The concepts and topics related to Science Subject

  • Plants
  • Animals
  • Food and Digestion
  • Human Needs
  • Matter and Materials
  • Force
  • Work and Energy
  • Our Environment
  • Earth and Universe.
Section 3 Achievers Section This section deals with Higher- Order Thinking Questions. The topics for this section are the same as section 2, but the difficulty level would be a little more.

Textbooks of the prescribed academic curriculum are the best guide to preparing for the examination. Moreover, the student who solves NSO Class 4 previous year papers gets a sound grip over the exam pattern. The student who refers to textbooks and other reference books, which are mentioned on the official website, will crack the exam for sure.

Frequently Asked Questions on NSO 2021

What is the total marks of the NSO exam for grade 4? ?

The total marks of the NSO exam for grade 4 is 40.

Students of which academic board can take up the examination?

The students of any academic board, such as CBSE, ICSE and different state boards can take up the examination.

Can the student refer to NSO sample papers?

The student can refer to the NSO sample paper that is available on the official website for neat understanding.

What are the eligibility criteria for entering level 2 examination?

To attempt the second level of NSO examination one must have the following eligibility criteria: the top 5% of students class-wise, who appear for the 1st level exam will be qualified for the next level, that is level 2.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *