NSO Class 9 Syllabus

The National Science Olympiad (NSO) is a science contest for students from grades one to twelve. The Science Olympiad Foundation administers the competition (SOF). The SOF is a renowned educational organisation that encourages students to cultivate a good competitive spirit by extending their hands in intellectual competition. This assessment teaches children to come up with new ideas, and to gain a great deal of knowledge not only from their courses but also from various other resources.

Levels of NSO

NSO is a scholarship exam that aims at enriching scientific reasoning and logical ability. There are two levels for the examination. The first is level 1 and the student who qualifies in this level will be eligible to write the level 2 examination. The two levels of the NSO Olympiad exam start from grade 3. Students studying in classes 1 and 2 will have only level 1 examination, and ranks are given based on their performance. To attempt the second level of NSO examination one must hold the rank in the top 5% of students’ class-wise.

The Pattern of Examination

The exam is an objective-type test consisting of 35 multiple-choice questions for classes 1 to 4 and 50 multiple-choice questions for classes 5 to 12. The examination is divided into three sections.

  • Section 1 focuses on Logical Reasoning
  • Section 2 focuses on Science section
  • Section 3 focuses on the Achievers section

The marks distribution for the three sections is shown below.

Class / Grade Section Number of questions Marks per question Total marks
Grade 9 Section 1 10 1 10
Section 2 35 1 35
Section 3 5 3 15
Grand Total 50 60

Syllabus for Class 9

The NSO syllabus is closely aligned with the academic curriculum of CBSE, ICSE, and several state boards. Students who study in any of these boards are eligible to take the exam. The NSO curriculum is based on the concepts and theories that the applicant would be studying in that particular academic year. The questions in the NSO Olympiad test are from the syllabus, yet they are difficult.

Below is a list of the NSO syllabus for Class 9.

Section of the exam Name of the section Topics included in the section
Section 1 Logical Reasoning Verbal and Non-verbal reasoning
Section 2 Science Section The concepts and topics related to Science Subject

  • Motion, Force and Laws of Motion
  • Gravitation
  • Work and Energy
  • Sound
  • Matter in Our Surroundings
  • Is Matter Around Us Pure
  • Atoms and Molecules
  • Structure of Atom
  • Cell-The Fundamental Unit of Life
  • Tissues
  • Diversity in Living Organisms
  • Why Do We Fall III
  • Natural Resources
  • Improvement in Food Resource
Section 3 Achievers Section This section deals with Higher-Order Thinking Questions. The topics for this section are the same as section 2, but the difficulty level would be a little more.

Students can easily pass the exam by studying these lessons from textbooks and referring to numerous books. Studying according to the paper pattern aids in better understanding of the subject. In addition, solving NSO sample papers Class 9, will help the candidate to perform better. Questions are asked with varying levels of difficulty, and the NSO exam contains all types of questions.

Frequently Asked Questions on NSO 

What is the full form of the NSO examination?

The full form of NSO is the National Science Olympiad.

How can the student know about the examination pattern for Class 9?

The student can refer to the official website for examination pattern or solve NSO previous year papers Class 9, which is available on the same official website.

What is the syllabus of the exam?

The syllabus of NSO is completely related to the academic curriculum of CBSE, ICSE and different state boards

What are the benefits of writing the NSO exam?

NSO mainly focuses on learning and the application of that learning in day-to-day life. One will be able to answer questions in various ways and formats.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *