Download the BYJU'S Exam Prep App for free IAS preparation videos & tests - Download the BYJU'S Exam Prep App for free IAS preparation videos & tests -

What is COMESA?

COMESA stands for Common Market For Eastern And Southern Africa.

COMESA is an organisation of free independent sovereign states which have decided to co-operate in developing their natural and human resources for the betterment of their people and it also has provisions that ensure the promotion of peace and security in the region.

This is an important topic for IAS exam aspirants.

Which countries are in COMESA?

There are 21 countries that are a part of COMESA. They are –

  • Burundi
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • D.R Congo
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Eswatini
  • Kenya
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sudan
  • Somalia
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

When was COMESA formed?

COMESA was formed on December 8, 1994.

What are the aims of COMESA?

The aims of COMESA are:

  1. To enhance development in the field of trade and useful resources through regional integration.
  2. To provide technical assistance to COMESA for uplifting the sustained development of the regions involved.

It works for its member nations:

  • To upgrade the competitiveness in the market
  • To achieve better industrial productivity and standards
  • To boost agricultural production and food security
  • To facilitate efficient utilization of natural resources
  • To achieve harmonised monetary, banking and financial policies
  • To provide reliable transport and communications infrastructure.

Related Links:

UPSC 2021 Calendar UPSC Books
UPSC Syllabus UPSC Notes
NCERT Notes For UPSC UPSC Prelims
UPSC 2021 UPSC Current Affairs


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.