What is Civil Service Exam?

What is Civil Service Exam?/What is civil service examination?

The Civil Services Examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission all over the country. It is the toughest competitive examination in India. This examination is conducted for recruitment of candidates to various Civil Services under Government of India. These posts include the prestigious Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), and Indian Police Service (IPS). The civil services post is classified into two categories. They are group ‘A’ and ‘B’. Group ‘A’ services are considered as All India Services. The examination is conducted in three stages. Candidates have to face three stages called preliminary examination, Mains examination, and interview.

Find the List of Group A & B Services

The civil services examination has an incredible history. The examination is rooted in the British Raj – period Imperial Civil Service examination. The civil service in India was introduced in 1854, based on the recommendation of Lord Macaulay’s Report. As per his recommendation, purely a merit-based contemporary Civil Service in India was established. After that it had undergone a lot of transformation.

Enroll IAS Prelims Test Series for 2017


Process of selection

The Civil Services Examination has three phases. They are:

Phase I: Preliminary examination – The prelims examination is a qualifying or screening test. It is done by UPSC to eliminate non-serious candidates on merit basis.  Normally the Prelims exam falls in the month of June. The results of Prelims exam will be declared within two months after the exam. This year UPSC Civil services Prelims examination is going to be held on 18th June 2017.

Phase II: the Main examination – The mains examination is descriptive paper. Those who are clearing the prelims exam can write this examination. This phase is normally conducted in the month of December. Sometimes it may vary according to UPSC calendar. The results of mains exam will be declared in the month of February last week or March.

Phase III: Personality Test or interview – The candidates those who are successful in mains examination will be invited for the interview. It will be held from April- May. The personality test will be taken by UPSC members and eminent people. The Final results are typically declared in May- June.

Know more about UPSC Syllabus and IAS Exam



There are some eligibility criteria for a civil service examination. The eligibility for civil services exam is based on the following factors like Nationality, Age, Education and Number of attempts. A candidate must be an Indian citizen for the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) and the Indian Police Service (IPS). A candidate must hold a degree and completed 21 years. The given age limits differ according to the caste reservations.

Know more | Eligibility Criteria for UPSC

Tune in to byjus for more articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.