Vice-President of India List

Vice-President of India is the 2nd most important authoritative body after the President. As per Article 65 of the Indian Constitution, he is entitled to take important decisions in certain cases of contingency due to resignation, removal, death, impeachment or the inability of the president to discharge his/her functions.

The Vice-President of India is the ex-officio chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

The necessary qualifications required for this post are listed below:

  1. Citizen of India who has completed the age of 35 years.
  2. He should not hold any office of profit under union government, state government, public authority and local authority.

There have been 13 Vice-presidents of India since the inception of the post in the Constitution. This article lists the Vice-Presidents of India from 1950 to 2023.

Candidates can know the List of Presidents of India that is again helpful in your exam preparation.

Government Exam 2023

Vice – Presidents of India (1950-2022)

Do you know who was the First Vice-President of India? 

Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was the first Vice-President of India. He took oath at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 13 May 1952.

The list of Vice-Presidents of India from 1950 to 2023 is listed below:

Vice – President of India Term of office
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (First Vice-President of India) 13 May 1952 – 12 May 1957

13 May 1957 – 12 May 1962

Zakir Hussain 13 May 1962 – 12 May 1967
V. V. Giri 13 May 1967 – 3 May 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974
B. D. Jatti 31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979
Mohammad Hidayatullah 31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984
R. Venkataraman 31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992
K. R. Narayanan 21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
Krishan Kant 21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11 August 2007 – 11 August 2012

11 August 2012 – 11 August 2017

Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2017 – 11 August 2022
Jagdeep Dhankhar 11 August 2022 – Incumbent

To know more about similar static GK topics, refer to the linked article.

Important Questions Based on the Vice-President of India

Q1. The post of Vice-President of India has been taken from which constitution?

Ans. The post of Vice President of India is taken from the US Constitution.

Q2. Name the Vice-Presidents who were elected unopposed?

Ans. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Hidayatullah, Shankar Dayal Sharma served as Vice-Presidents and were elected unopposed.

Q3. Which article of the Indian Constitution states that ‘There shall be a Vice-President of India’?

Ans. Article 63 of the Indian Constitution states that ‘There shall be a Vice-President of India’.

Q.4. How can a Vice-President be removed from the office?

Ans. A Vice-President can be removed from office by the full process of impeachment, or the Rajya Sabha can remove VP by passing a resolution with an absolute majority but the consent of the Lok Sabha is necessary.

Q5. What is the tenure of the acting President?

Ans. Vice President can work as an acting President for a maximum period of 6 months.

Related Links:

IAS Exam UPSC Books
UPSC 2023 UPSC Notes
UPSC Syllabus UPSC Calendar 2023
List of Exams Conducted by the UPSC UPSC Civil Services Exam Pattern
Prime Ministers of India List Daily Current Affairs

Daily News

Frequently Asked Question – Vice-President of India List


Q.1. Who was the first Vice-President of India?

Ans. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan served as the first Vice-President of India. His office tenure as the first Vice-President was from May 13th 1952 to May 12th 1962.

Q.2. Who is the current Vice-President of India?

Ans. Venkaiah Naidu is the Vice-President of India currently. He took over the office of Vice-President on August 11th, 2017 after defeating UPA candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi.

Q.3. What is the qualification for Vice-President of India?

Ans. To serve as the Vice-President of India; a citizen should be an Indian national of not be less than 35 years. He should be eligible for election as a member of the Rajya Sabha but shouldn’t be a member of the Rajya Sabha. He also should not hold any office of profit.

Q.4. What is the salary of Vice-President of India?

Ans. The current salary of the Vice President is Rs. 4 lakh per month (Exclusive of allowances).


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.