Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Abhijit Banerjee, an Indian born American Economist made it to the List of Indian Nobel Laureates on 15th October 2019 for his outstanding contribution in the field of Economic Sciences. He shared the Nobel Prize with Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer for initiating an experiment in order to alleviate Global Poverty.

Nobel prize is a set of international awards presented to people for outstanding contributions in the field of cultural, academic and scientific advances.

This topic can be a part of UPSC 2023. Aspirants can use this article for better preparation.

These sets of awards are presented by the Swedish and Norwegian institutions. Nobel Prize was first awarded in 1901.

Related Links:

Government Exams Bank Exams
Current Affairs Daily News Analysis

Indians have also achieved significant success in the above-mentioned Nobel Prize categories.

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize in the year 1913 for Literature. Post that, many eminent personalities have been listed as Nobel Prize winners from India.

This article is about the list of Indian Nobel Prize winners. The Nobel Prize Winners is an important static GK topic. For information on various static GK topics check the article linked here.

Read about the similar topics from the links mentioned below:

List of Indian Nobel Laureates

The list of Indian Nobel Laureates is given below:

Indian Citizenship

Nobel Laureates Field Year
Rabindranath Tagore Literature 1913
C. V Raman Physics 1930
Mother Teresa Peace 1979
Amartya Sen Economic Sciences 1998
Kailash Satyarthi Peace 2014

Born in India but different Citizenship

Nobel Laureates Field Year Nationality
Har Gobind Khorana Physiology/Medicine 1968 United States
Subrahmanyam Chandrasekhar Physics 1983 United States
Venkatraman Ramakrishnan Chemistry 2009 United Kingdom

United States

Abhijit Banerjee Economic Sciences 2019 United States

Indian Residents at the time of being awarded & Non-Indian Citizenship

Nobel Laureates Field Year Nationality
Ronald Ross Physiology/Medicine 1902 United Kingdom
Rudyard Kipling Literature 1907 United Kingdom
Tenzing Gyatso (14th Dalai Lama) Peace 1989 Tibet

Learn about the Nobel Prize Winners 2020 in the linked article.

Basic Information about Nobel Prize:

The various fields of recognition are:

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Medicine
  • Literature
  • Peace
  • Economic Sciences

The set of communities associated with the awards presentation are:

  • Nobel Assembly at the Karolinska Institute (Physiology or Medicine)
  • Norwegian Nobel Committee (Peace)
  • Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Chemistry, Economic Sciences, Physics)
  • Swedish Academy (Literature)

Govt Exam Preparation:

Static GK Current Affairs
Online Quiz Free Online Mock Tests with Solutions
Difference Between Articles Govt Exam Previous Year Question Papers

Government Exam 2023


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.



  1. Can you pls tell us the name of physics scientist who won noble prize with there discovery only indian

    • Hi Tanisha,
      Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman was awarded Noble Prize in Physics in 1930 for his work on the scattering of the light and discovery of the effect called Raman effect.