Interesting Facts about Padma Awards

The Indian government has instituted two civilian awards- a three-tier Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna in 1954. Padma Award is one of the premier civilian Awards of the nation that are conferred to people who outshine in their corresponding field. The Padma Vibhushan was classified into three –Pahela Varg, Dusra Varg and Tisra Varg. These were successively retitled as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan, and Padma Shri through a Presidential Notification issued on January 8, 1955. Padma awards are given by the President of India at traditional functions held at Rashtrapati Bhawan in the month of March or April.

It is very important to know the basics about the country for UPSC Civil Services IAS Examination. The civil services exam is conducted by UPSC annually. This article will be very useful for competitive exam like UPSC IAS Exam, SSC CGL, UPSC CDS I &II, Bank PO, exams and all state-related exams. Here we are giving all the details about the Padma Awards.


The award is given in three classes, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Padma Vibhusan

Padma Vibhushan is given for the extraordinary and distinguished service

Padma Bushan

Padma Bhushan is given for the distinguished service of a high order

Padma Shri

Padma Shri is given for the distinguished service

  • The Padma Awards were instituted in 1954 by Government of India.
  • It is awarded annually in the event of Republic Day
  • The award does not add up to a title and cannot be used as a suffix or prefix to the recipient’s name.
  • The awardees are given a medallion and a Sanad signed by the President of India.
  • The recipient are also given a small duplication of the medallion, which they can wear in the course of any ceremonial and State functions etc.
  • The names of the Padma award recipient are published in the Gazette of India.
  • The total number of awards to be given in a year should not be more than 120 (not including posthumous awards and to foreigners/ NRI/OCIs).
  • The Padma Awards are given on the recommendations done by the Padma Awards Committee, which is created by the Prime Minister Annually.
  • The award Committee is supervised by the Cabinet Secretary and comprises of Secretary to the President, Home Secretary, and 4-6 distinguished individuals as members.
  • The proposal of the award committee is tabled to the President of India and the Prime Minister for consent.
  • All individuals deprived of the difference of race, profession, sex or position are entitled to these awards.
  • Foreigners are also entitled to Bharat Ratna and Padma Awards
  • The award seeks to distinguish works of excellence and is given for and extraordinary achievements in all fields of
    • Art -Painting, Sculpture, Music, Photography, Theatre, Cinema, etc.
    • Civil Service -Excellence in administration
    • Literature and Education -Journalism, Book writing, Teaching, Literature, Poetry, Education Reforms, aggrandizement of education and literacy
    • Medicine- Medical research, specialization in Allopathy, Homeopathy, Ayurveda, Naturopathy, Siddha, etc.
    • Public Affairs- Law, Politics, Public Life etc.
    • Science and Engineering- Nuclear Science, Information Technology, Space Engineering, Research and Development in Science & its associated subjects etc.
    • Social work – Charitable service, Social service, contribution in public projects etc.
    • Sports – Athletics, Adventure, Mountaineering, promotion of sports, Yoga and other Popular Sports.
    • Trade and Industry – Economic Activities, Business, Promotion of Tourism, Banking, Management etc.
    • Other fields not enclosed above and may comprise propagation of Indian Culture, guarding Human Rights, Wild Life protection, and conservation etc.
  • The constitutional validity of Padma Awards was challenged in 1992 in Kerala and Madhya Pradesh with respect to the Public interest Litigation filed. Until the issue has resolved in the respective court, the award was suspended.
  • The award is generally not conferred after death. But in highly commendable cases, the Government could consider giving an award posthumously.
  • One can confer the higher category of Padma award only after completing 5 years after the conferring the earlier Padma award. But, in highly commendable situations, moderation can be made by the Award Committee.
  • No Padma awards were given in the year of 1978, 1979, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997 due to the change of government.

    Tune into for more strategy articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *