EWS Reservation Eligibility - Who is Eligible for EWS Certificate?

The Parliament amended the Constitution of India to provide for a 10% reservation in education and government jobs in India for a section of the General category candidates. Know all about the EWS reservation, who all are eligible for the EWS quota, how to apply for EWS reservation in the UPSC exam application, etc.

Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) Reservation

The government has introduced a 10% EWS reservation for general category candidates. This is for all those candidates who are covered under any reservations (such as OBC, SC, ST and except PH and Ex-servicemen criteria) and belong to economically backward sections.

Who is eligible to claim EWS Quota?

The government has laid down certain eligibility conditions for candidates to be able to claim reservation under this new category. EWS full form is ‘Economically Weaker Section’.

To be eligible for EWS certificate, you will have to satisfy all the conditions mentioned below:

  1. You should be a ‘general’ candidate (not covered under reservation for SC, ST or OBC).
  2. Your family’s gross annual income should be below Rs. 8 lakhs. This includes income from all sources such as agriculture, salary, business, etc. for the financial year prior to your applying for the exam.
  3. Your family should not own agricultural land of size 5 acres or more.
  4. Your family should not own a residential flat of area 1000 square feet or more.
  5. Your family should not own a residential plot (in notified municipalities) of area 100 square yards or more.
  6. Your family should not own a residential plot (other than in notified municipalities) of area 200 square yards or more.

What is ‘Family’ according to the EWS Reservation rules?

For the purpose of this reservation, ‘family’ includes the following:

  • The person seeking the reservation.
  • His/her parents.
  • His/her siblings below the age of 18 years.
  • His/her spouse and children below the age of 18 years.

The land or property owned by the family in different locations should be clubbed while checking the eligibility conditions for EWS reservations.

How do I apply for EWS reservations?

You can get the EWS certificate from your local government authority (Tehsil). The certificate is actually called an ‘Income and Assets Certificate’ and this is the proof that is required to avail of the EWS reservation.

There is no online method prescribed by the government for getting EWS certificate. You need to go to your local Tehsil or any other local government authority. You will need other documents such as Aadhar Card, Pan Card, bank statements, passport size photo, etc. along with the Income and Assets Certificate (downloadable from many government websites). The certificate looks like this below:

EWS Certificate - Income and Assets Certificate

The designated government officer will verify your documents and issue your EWS certificate. The certificate issued only by any of the following authorities will be accepted as proof of a candidate belonging to the EWS category:

  • District Magistrate/Additional District Magistrate/Collector/Deputy Commissioner/Additional Deputy Commissioner/1st Class Stipendary Magistrate/ Sub-Divisional Magistrate/Taluka Magistrate/Executive Magistrate/Extra Assistant Commissioner
  • Chief Presidency Magistrate/Additional Chief Presidency Magistrate/ Presidency Magistrate
  • Revenue Officer not below the rank of Tehsildar and
  • Sub-Divisional Officer or the area where the candidate and/or his family normally resides.

Will candidates under EWS get other relaxations in age and the number of attempts?

No, EWS candidates will only get the 10% quota in seats. Other eligibility conditions of the IAS exam such as age limit and the number of attempts shall remain the same as for any ‘general’ candidate.

EWS Reservation Eligibility – Is the criteria uniform across all states in India?

Even though the EWS criterion was brought by the Central Government, states can have their own cut-offs for income. However, for the UPSC 2020 and other central government jobs, the cut-offs prescribed by the Centre will be valid.

Difference between EWS and OBC reservations

The OBC reservations are for the non-creamy layer section of the Other Backward Classes section. For them, a 27% reservation is given. The EWS is for that section of the ‘General’ classes (not covered under OBC, SC or ST) whose family income is below Rs. 8 lakhs. For them, a 10% reservation in seats is provided.

There will be a separate (lower) cut-off for the EWS candidates, in the same manner for OBC, SC and ST candidates. However, there is no other relaxation with respect to the number of attempts and the upper age limit for applying.

Another difference between EWS and OBC reservations is that in determining the family income for reservations, in the case of OBC candidates, the income of the spouse is not included, whereas it is included in the case of EWS reservation.

Related Links


  1. I have filled the upsc prelims application form 2020 but there was not any column in which i have to upload the ews certificate. So can u plz. tell me when will i have to upload/submit the ews certificate.

    1. Hi
      Candidates clearing Prelims stage will have to submit EWS Certificate. For Mains Stage, an on-line detailed application form (DAF) will have to be filled where you will be required to upload scanned copies of all relevant documents in support of date of birth, category {viz. SC/ST/ OBC(without OBC Annexure) along with EWS Certificate.

  2. Hello. The notification says certificate should be dated earlier than the closing date of application of Prelims examination. Should it also be dated earlier than the day i personally apply for the exam?

    1. Hi,
      No, it should just abide by the UPSC criteria, i.e., it should be dated earlier than the due date of UPSC Application Form 2020 (3rd March 2020).

  3. For the exam on may 31st, EWS certificate for 2019-2020 should be taken or EWS for 2018-2019 should be taken?

    1. Hi Raghvendra
      You should produce an EWS Certificate for the year 2019-20. The validity of the certificate is one year. The ‘Income & asset certificate’ has to be of the year 2018-2019 producing which you can get your EWS certificate.

  4. Any age relaxation in EWS candidate

    1. No, there is no age relaxation for EWS candidates so far in UPSC Exam. The eligibility criteria for UPSC stands same for the general category and EWS candidates.

  5. Pradeep Kumar Gupta

    Hello sir,
    I am Defence (Army) employee and belongs to OBC category. Age criteria / Relaxation in age limits is not understood. My dt of birth is 11Feb 1988 . Till which dt I will be able to apply in category of OBC and defence employee.

    Thanking you

    1. The maximum age limit is 37. While filling the form against the ex-servicemen quota, you will have to also mention your category as OBC.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *