List of Booker Prize Winners 2020 - Man Booker Prize

The list of Booker Prize Winners 2020 is imperative for competitive exams. Questions on Booker Prizes and its winners form an important part of the current affairs and general awareness section.

Hence, the article will provide the list of Booker Prize winners 2020 along with related facts and questions to assist in exam preparation.

Aspirants preparing for various Government exams can check the linked page for the latest information on the upcoming exams.

Preparing for any Government Exam? Refer the links below to fine-tune your preparation and outshine the competition-

  1. Static GK
  2. Free Online Quiz
  3. Daily Current Affairs
  4. Daily News Analysis
  5. English for Competitive Exams
  6. 100 Difference Between Articles for Revision

Booker Prize Winner 2020

Booker Prize – Key facts

  1. The Booker Prize for Fiction was formerly known as the Booker–McConnell Prize (1969–2001) and the Man Booker Prize (2002–2019). It was first awarded in 1969.
  2. Its aim was to stimulate the reading and discussion of contemporary fiction
  3. In 1970, Bernice Rubens became the first woman to win the Booker Prize, for The Elected Member.
  4. The younger sibling of the Booker Prize is the International Booker Prize which is given for fiction in translation.

What is the Booker Prize?

The Booker Prize is a leading literary award in the English speaking world. The prize has brought recognition, reward and readership to outstanding fiction for over 50 years. It is awarded annually to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK or Ireland.

Booker Prize Winner 2020

  1. The 2020 Booker Prize for Fiction was announced on 19 November 2020.
  2. The Booker Prize 2020 was awarded to Douglas Stuart for his debut novel, Shuggie Bain.
  3. Stuart is the second Scottish author to win the Booker Prize after it was awarded to James Kelman for How Late It Was, How Late in 1994.

The winner receives £50,000 as well as the £2,500 awarded to each of the six shortlisted authors. Both the winner and the shortlisted authors are guaranteed a global readership plus a dramatic increase in book sales.

The Nominees for Shortlist Authors are as follows-

Booker Prize Winners 2020 – Nominees for Shortlist
Author Title Publisher Country
Diane Cook The New Wilderness Oneworld Publications United States
Tsitsi Dangarembga This Mournable Body Faber & Faber Zimbabwe
Avni Doshi Burnt Sugar Hamish Hamilton / Penguin Random House United States
Maaza Mengiste The Shadow King Canongate Books Ethiopia / United States
Brandon Taylor Real Life Originals / Daunt Books Publishing United States
Douglas Stuart Shuggie Bain Picador / Pan Macmillan United Kingdom/United States

Aspirants can also go through the List of Nobel Prize Winners 2020 on the linked page to upkeep for the current affairs section.

The International Booker Prize Winner 2020

International Booker Prize – Key facts

  1. The International Booker Prize was previously known as The Man Booker International Prize. It was established in 2005.
  2. The Booker prize is honoured for finest in fiction while the International Booker Prize is honoured for finest fiction translated in English and published in the UK or Ireland.
  3. It honours fiction on a global basis to encourage more reading of quality fiction from all over the world.

What is the International Booker Prize?

The International Booker Prize (formerly known as the Man Booker International Prize) is awarded annually for a single book, translated into English and published in the UK or Ireland. The vital work of translators is celebrated.

International Booker Prize Winner 2020

  1. 2020 international Booker prize winner is Marieke Lucas Rijneveld (Netherlands) for her work ‘The Discomfort of Evening’, translated from the Dutch by Michele Hutchison (Faber & Faber)

The prize money of £50,000 for the International Booker prize is divided equally between the author and translator. Each shortlisted author and translator also receives £1,000.

The Nominees for Shortlist Authors for International Booker Prize 2020 are as follows-

International Booker Prize Winners 2020 – Nominees for Shortlist
Author Title Publisher Translator
Shokoofeh Azar (Farsi-Iran) The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree Europa Editions Anonymous
Gabriela Cabezón Cámara (Spanish-Argentina) The Adventures of China Iron Charco Press Iona Macintyre and Fiona Mackintosh
Daniel Kehlmann (Germany-German) Tyll Quercus Ross Benjamin
Fernanda Melchor (Spanish-Mexico) Hurricane Season Fitzcarraldo Editions Sophie Hughes
Yoko Ogawa (Japanese-Japan) The Memory Police Harvill Secker Stephen Snyder
Marieke Lucas Rijneveld (Dutch-Netherlands) The Discomfort of Evening Faber & Faber Michele Hutchison

Candidates preparing for various competitive exams can go through the links for relevant information-

List of Booker Prize Winners 2010 to 2020

The table below highlights the winners of the Booker Prize award for previous years from 2010 to 2019.

List of Booker Prize Winners [2019-2010]
Year Author Title/Work Publisher
2019 Margaret Atwood The Testaments Vintage, Chatto & Windus
2018 Anna Burns Milkman Faber & Faber
2017 George Saunders Lincoln in the Bardo Bloomsbury
2016 Paul Beatty The Sellout Oneworld Publications
2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings Oneworld Publications
2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North Chatto & Windus
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries Granta
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies Fourth Estate
2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending Jonathan Cape
2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question Bloomsbury

List of International Booker Prize Winners [2019-2016]

This table highlights the previous year’s winners of the International Booker prize. It will give the name of the author, their work and, translators (who translated in English) and publisher.

List of International Booker Prize Winners – [2016-2019]
Year Author Country Work Translator Language
2019 Jokha al-Harthi Oman Celestial Bodies Marilyn Booth Arabic
2018 Olga Tokarczuk Poland Flights Jennifer Croft Polish
2017 David Grossman Israel A Horse Walks Into a Bar Jessica Cohen Hebrew
2016 Han Kang South Korea The Vegetarian Deborah Smith Korean

Aspirants can check similar articles to gear up their preparation for the exams.

  1. Tennis Grand Slam Winners 2020
  2. FIFA World Cup Winners
  3. IPL Winners List
  4. ICC Cricket World Cup Winners
  5. List of First in India
  6. Fathers of various Fields

List of Indians Who Won the Booker Prize

The booker prize is honoured not to any author but to a specific work of fiction. The table below highlights the list of Indians or persons from Indian descent who have been honoured with the Booker prize award.

Booker Prize Winners – Indians
Year Work/Book Author
1971 In a Free State V.S. Naipaul
1981 Midnight’s Children Salman Rushdie
1997 The God of Small Things Arundhati Roy
2006 The Inheritance of Loss Kiran Desai
2008 The White Tiger Aravind Adiga

List of Booker Prize Winners:-Download PDF Here

Candidates preparing for various exams can go through the following links for their preparation-

Aspirants preparing for the UPSC exam can check the links given below –

  1. UPSC 2022
  2. UPSC Calendar 2022
  3. UPSC Syllabus

Candidates must check preparation strategies for competitive exams for holistic preparation.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.