Special Class Railway Apprentice Eligibility

The Special Class Railway Apprentice Eligibility for SCRA is an authority that conducts a yearly recruitment programme for railway apprenticeship across the country. The initiative is overseen and represented by the Union Public Service Commission or the UPSC. The interested candidates are thus required to fulfil the eligibility criteria for registration. The Special Class Railway Apprentice eligibility criteria consist of various components such as age, education, nationality, etc. Candidates should take a good look at the list of criteria so that they know whether they meet those or not for appearing in the exam.

Preparing for the upcoming Competitive Exams?? Kickstart your preparation now with the links given below:

SCRA Eligibility Criteria

The SCRA exam eligibility criteria are divided into several sections for interested candidates. The divisions are made in order for applicants to understand whether they are eligible to apply for the recruitment programme, according to their respective categories.

The age limit of the applicants:

  • The SCRA eligibility criteria mention that an applicant should be of the minimum age of 17 years at the beginning of the year (1st January 2022).
  • The maximum age of an applicant for the SCRA apprenticeship is 21 years.

Age Relaxation

Category Age Relaxation
SC/ ST 5 years
OBC 3 years
Jammu and Kashmir residents 5 years
Candidates of Defence Services 3 years
Ex-Serviceman/ SSCOs/ ECOs 5 years

Age limit is an essential factor in the eligibility criteria. Therefore, candidates applying for UPSC SCRA Exam should check what is the age for the SCRA exam before filling out the online application form.

Educational Qualification SCRA Railway Exam Eligibility

Applicants for the SCRA apprenticeship recruitment process should fulfil the following educational criteria:

  • The applicant should have cleared the 10+2 grade education under a recognised education board or institute.
  • The applicant should have obtained an aggregate of at least 45% in the 12th grade Board examination.
  • The applicant should have opted for Mathematics as a compulsory subject during their higher secondary education, along with either Physics or Chemistry.
  • The applicant should have obtained at least a 2nd division grade in their pre-engineering level.

Nationality Criteria

The list of criteria for SCRA specifies the following nationality criterium for applicant registration:

The applicant should either be:

  1. A citizen of India, a Nepalese or a Bhutanese subject
  2. An Indian origin person that migrated from Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Vietnam, Zambia, Uganda, Tanzania, Malawi, Ethiopia to India and plans to settle down in the country for a permanent basis
  3. A Tibetan refugee, who intends to become a permanent citizen of India and has come here prior to 1st January 1962

SCRA Examination

The SCRA written examination is the first of the three stages in the recruitment process, followed by the Personality Test in Stage 2 and finally, the Personal Interview. The examination qualifies candidates for the remaining two stages. The written examination is divided into three primary subjects – General Ability, Physical Science and Mathematics. Each of these subjects carries 200 marks worth of weightage, totalling 600 marks.

The topic-wise breakdown of the three subjects:

  • General Ability- History, English, General Knowledge, general vocabulary, etc.
  • Mathematics- Matrices, Calculus, Algebra, Determinants, etc.
  • Physical Science- Electromagnetic induction, current, electricity, biochemistry, etc.

For each subject, candidates are allotted two hours.

Candidates can refer to the following links for assistance in the preparation of English

part of the SCRA examination.

English Root Words List of One Word Substitutions
List of Most Asked English Vocabulary List of Synonyms & Antonyms

Candidates can go through preparation strategies for competitive exams to do diligent preparation for the examination.

SCRA Stage 2- Personality Test

The candidates who clear the first stage of the written examination qualify for the second stage of the personality test. This test carries a weightage of 200 marks, and its duration is of 2 hours.

SCRA is one of the competitive examinations that ask for in-depth knowledge and sincerity from the aspirants. To make sure candidates crack the exam, they should study with full concentration.

Aspirants of other Government Exams can check the linked page for the latest information related to upcoming exams.

Aspirants who shall be appearing for the exam for the first time and are willing to get some preparation tips and study material for the competitive exams can turn to BYJU’S for assistance.

Frequently Asked Questions on Special Class Railway Apprentice Eligibility


Is there any age relaxation for females in the Special Class Railway Apprentice eligibility?

There is no particular reservation or relaxation for females. The age relaxation rule as per the various categories applies to female candidates also.


If I fulfil all the SCRA eligibility, how much is the exam fee?

The application fee for General, OBC and OC category candidates is 100 INR. For SC/ ST, PWD and Female candidates, there is no application fee.


What is the monthly stipend of an SCRA apprentice?

An SCRA recruit would receive a monthly stipend of 9100 INR in the first year. The second year of apprenticeship provides a similar amount, but in the third year, it increases to 9400 INR. In the first half of the fourth year, candidates earn 9400 INR per month, and in the second half, they earn 9700 INR per month.

Also, aspirants preparing for other government exams can check the given links for reference:

The aspirants can check out other useful links for their preparation from the table provided below:

SCRA Application Form SCRA Notification
SCRA Exam Centres SCRA Admit Card


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.