How are earthquakes measured?

The earthquake events are measured either according to the magnitude or intensity of the shock. 

  • The magnitude scale is known as the Richter scale. The magnitude relates to the energy released during the quake. The magnitude is expressed in absolute numbers ranging between 0 and 10.
  • The intensity scale is named after Mercalli, an Italian seismologist. The intensity scale takes into account the visible damage caused by the event. The range of intensity scale is between 1 and 12.

Further Reading:

Related Links

What is the importance of seismic waves?

What are the main rock types?

Topic-wise UPSC Prelims Questions PDF



Geography Questions for UPSC Mains

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *