What are the main rock types?

There are three major types of rocks. They are igneous rocks, sedimentary rocks and metamorphic rocks.

  • Igneous rocks: When the molten magma cools, it becomes solid. Rocks thus formed are called igneous rocks. They are also called primary rocks. 
  • Sedimentary rocks: These loose sediments are compressed and hardened to form layers of rocks. These types of rocks are called sedimentary rocks.
  • Metamorphic rocks: Igneous and sedimentary rocks can change into metamorphic rocks under great heat and pressure.

Further Reading:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *