What are the different types of peasants?

Peasants can be classified on the following basis:

  1. Basis of Land Ownership
  2. Size of Land Holdings
  3. Resource Ownership.

In these categories the following types of peasants are listed

  1. Basis of Land Ownership: Malik (Owners), Kisan (Tillers), Mazdoor (Agriculture Labourers)
  1. Size of Land Holdings: Rich Peasants, Small Peasants, Marginal Farmers, Landless Peasants
  1. Resource Ownership: Owner-cultivator, largely owner-cultivator, largely tenant-cultivator, tenant-cultivator, totally poor peasant.

For further reading check the following articles:

Related Links

When did the peasant movement start in India?

Who is the father of the Indian Peasant movement?

NCERT Medieval Indian History Notes UPSC

UPSC Questions 

NCERT Ancient Indian History Notes UPSC

NCERT Modern Indian History Notes UPSC

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *