What are the parts and schedules of Indian Constitution?

Parts of Indian Constitution:

The Indian Constitution is divided into 25 parts and 12 schedules. It had 395 articles in 22 parts and 8 schedules at the time of its commencement.

Parts and Subject Articles
Part I – The Union and its Territories 1 – 4
Part II – Citizenship 5 -11
Part III – Fundamental Rights 12 – 35
Part IV – Directive Principles of State Policy 36 – 51
Part IV A – Fundamental Duties 51A
Part V – The Union 52 – 151
Part VI – The States 152 – 237
Part VII – The States in Part B of First Schedule 238 [Repealed]
Part VIII – The Union Territories 239 – 242
Part IX – The Panchayats 243 – 243O
Part IXA – The Municipalities 243P – 243ZG
Part IXB – The Co-operative Societies 243ZH – 243ZT
Part X – The Scheduled and Tribal Areas 244 – 244A
Part XI – Relation between the Union and the States 245 – 263
Part XII – Finance, Property, Contracts and Suits 264 – 300A
Part XIII – Trade, Commerce and Intercourse within the territory of India 301 – 307
Part XIV – Services Under the Union and the States 308 – 323
Part XIVA – Tribunals 323A – 323B
Part XV – Elections 324 – 329A
Part XVI – Special provisions relating to certain classes 330 – 342
Part XVII – Official language 343 – 351
Part XVIII – Emergency Provisions 352 – 360
Part XIX – Miscellaneous 361 – 367
Part XX – Amendment of the Constitution 368
Part XXI – Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions 369 – 392
Part XXII – Short Title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals 393 – 395

Schedules of Indian Constitution:

There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. They are:

Schedules in Indian Constitution
Schedules Features of Schedules
1st Schedule It contains the name of States and Union Territories

Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included

2nd Schedule The provisions in relation to allowances, privileges, emoluments of:

  • President of India
  • Governors of Indian States
  • Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
  • Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha
  • Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States
  • Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • High Court Judges
  • Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)
3rd Schedule It contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:

  • Union Ministers of India
  • Parliament Election Candidates
  • Members of Parliament (MPs)
  • Supreme Court Judges
  • Comptroller and Auditor General
  • State Ministers
  • State Legislature Elections’ Candidates
  • State Legislature Members
  • High Court Judges
4th Schedule It contains the provisions in relation to the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha
5th Schedule It contains provisions in relation to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes
6th Schedule It contains provisions in relation to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram
7th Schedule This schedule deals with the three legislative lists
8th Schedule It deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Constitution:
9th Schedule It deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and the abolition of the Zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.
10th Schedule It contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection.
11th Schedule It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats.
12th Schedule It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities.

Further Reading:


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *