What is a State under Article 12?

The term ‘state’ specifies the authorities and all the instrumentalities which are functioning within or outside the territory of India and those institutions will be considered to be ‘the state’ under Part III of the constitution. State under Article 12 includes:

  • The government and parliament of India.
  • The government and legislature of each state.
  • The local or other authorities within the territory of India.
  • The local or other authorities under the control of Govt. of India.

Further Reading:

Related Links
What is Article 13 of the Indian Constitution? What is 12th Schedule of Indian Constitution?
What is another name for National Integration Day? Important Amendments of Indian Constitution


UPSC Preparation Links
UPSC Age Limit UPSC 2022
UPSC Study Material Topic-wise UPSC Prelims Questions PDF
IAS Preparation List Of IAS Preparation Articles

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *