What are the types of plate boundaries?

There are three types of plate boundaries. They are: 

    • Divergent Boundaries: New crust is generated as the plates pull away from each other. The sites where the plates move away from each other are called spreading sites. Example: Mid-Atlantic Ridge
    • Convergent Boundaries: The crust is destroyed as one plate dived under another. The location where the sinking of a plate occurs is called a subduction zone. There are three ways in which convergence can occur. These are: 
      • Between an oceanic and continental plate; 
      • Between two oceanic plates; and 
      • Between two continental plates.
    • Transform Boundaries: The crust is neither produced nor destroyed as the plates slide horizontally past each other.

Further Reading:

Related Links

What is the evidence of continental drift theory?

What is the theory of continental drift?


IAS Preparation

Topic-wise UPSC Prelims Questions PDF

Take IAS Mock Tests

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *