Who appoints the CM of union territory?

The Chief Minister of Union Territories shall be appointed by the President and other Ministers shall be appointed by the President on the advice of the Chief Minister, and the Ministers shall hold office during the pleasure of the President.

The Union Territories of Puducherry (in 1963) and Delhi (1992) are provided with a legislative assembly and a council of ministers headed by a chief minister. 

Similarly, the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir has been provided with a unicameral legislature. 

The remaining union territories do not have such popular political institutions. 

Further Reading:

To read more about the powers of the President of India, aspirants can check the linked article. 

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *